UNO's Derrin Hansen wins Summit League coach of the year; two Mavs earn first team honors

UNO coach Derrin Hansen won Summit League coach of the year award.

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. — UNO’s Derrin Hansen, Mitch Hahn and Zach Jackson earned Summit League honors Thursday, as did Nebraskan Mike Daum of South Dakota State.

Hansen, who led the Mavs to second place in the conference, was named Summit League coach of the year. UNO set a Division I-program record with 19 wins.

Hahn and Jackson were named to the Summit League first team, along with Daum. Hahn, a Fremont High grad, averaged 16.8 points per game, and Jackson averaged a team-high 18.2.

The Mavs open the Summit League tournament by facing North Dakota in an 8:30 p.m. quarterfinal Saturday at the Denny Sanford Premier Center.

Daum tied a conference record with a third player of the year honor and fourth All-Summit League first-team selection.

The Kimball, Nebraska, native ranks among the top five in the country in scoring (25.6 ppg) and rebounding (11.7 rpg) while compiling 20 double-doubles.

Sign up for World-Herald daily sports updates

Get the headlines from Creighton, Nebraska, UNO, high schools and other area teams.

Be the first to know when news happens. Get the latest breaking headlines sent straight to your inbox.

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Commenting is limited to Omaha World-Herald subscribers. To sign up, click here.

If you're already a subscriber and need to activate your access or log in, click here.

Load comments

You must be a full digital subscriber to read this article You must be a digital subscriber to view this article.