AIA Nebraska awards

University of Nebraska Omaha, Strauss Performing Arts Center, Masonry Citation winner, 2019 AIA Nebraska Excellence in Design contest.

AIA Nebraska, a chapter of the American Institute of Architects, announced its 2019 design award winners at its Excellence in Design Gala, Nov. 8, at the Assemblage Gallery in Lincoln.

Four Honor Awards, three Merit Awards and four Citation Awards were given from 82 submissions by Nebraska architects.

Jury members, from Portland, Oregon, were Carrie Strickland, FAIA, jury chair, Works Progress Architecture; Brian Cavanaugh, AIA, Architecture Building Culture; and Amy Donahue, AIA, BORA.

Additionally, AIA Nebraska invited the public to cast ballots online for its favorite entries in the People’s Choice category. Seven winners emerged.

The Excellence in Design program is an annual event for Nebraska architects who submit built and unbuilt projects for consideration in the categories of Architecture, Interior Architecture, Unbuilt, Details and Masonry.

In addition, there are Unbuilt Design and Architectural Detail categories for emerging architects and architecture students.

Projects are judged on a variety of criteria, including originality, extended use attributes, sustainability, budget and use of environmental surroundings.

AIA Nebraska, which is celebrating its 100th anniversary this year, supports architects in fulfilling their commitment to excellence in design and livability in our buildings and communities.

Further information on this year’s design winners and past winners can be found at

Be the first to know when news happens. Get the latest breaking headlines sent straight to your inbox.

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Commenting is limited to Omaha World-Herald subscribers. To sign up, click here.

If you're already a subscriber and need to activate your access or log in, click here.

Load comments

You must be a full digital subscriber to read this article You must be a digital subscriber to view this article.