You are the owner of this article.

Notes: Alternates list stays fluid ahead of tee time announcements

  • 0

When tee times are released Tuesday for the Cox Classic's opening two rounds, two-time U.S. Open champion Lee Janzen and ex-Husker Steve Friesen still will be on the alternates list.

But they've moved up a couple of spots since Sunday night. Janzen is now fifth on the list and Friesen sixth. Money won this season determines who plays in the $800,000 tournament that ends the regular season. Janzen and Friesen are Nos. 177 and 178, respectively.

All of the tournament activity Monday was restricted to Champions Run with the Creighton University College of Business pro-am. There was no Monday qualifying this year since the Cox Classic is considered a “closed” field. Neither were spots given to the top players from the Nebraska Section of the PGA of America nor sponsor's exemptions handed out.

Most of the 156 players are expected to be at the course Tuesday for practice rounds. Only 52 will be able to play the course Wednesday because of the daylong TD Ameritrade pro-am.

Youth clinic at dinner time

With its target audience is back at school, the Cox Classic's Subway Restaurants Youth Clinic and Autograph Day starts Tuesday at 5 p.m. on the driving range. When the tournament had midsummer dates, the event usually started at 10 a.m.

The clinic lasts until 6 p.m., followed by the participating pros signing autographs. The pros should be asked to sign only one item per person.

Faheys on winning team

Former Mayor Mike Fahey and son Brian were on the winning team with pro Sun Hun Kang, Rick Virgin and Mark Mowat in Monday's Creighton University College of Business pro-am.

Their team won a scorecard playoff for first place after shooting 51 at Champions Run.

Derek Fathauer, with a 66, was low pro.

Pro-am leaders

51 (won scorecard playoff): Sun Hun Kang, Rick Virgin, Mike Fahey, Brian Fahey, Mark Mowat

51: Fernando Mecereffe, Wayne Hoovestol, Pat Corrigan, Trey Mytty, Chad Kelsay

52: Brad Adamonis, Tony Urban, Andy Lucht, Jack Struyk, John Grose III

53: Guy Boros, Doreen Griffith, Dave Naumann, Tim Pugsley, Jon Fisher

53: Derek Fathauer, Darrin Gessert, Craig Daubman, Tony Daniel, Tony Roth

53: Dawie Van der Walt, Jeff Lake, Michael Piernicky, Jon Peace, TJ Twit

53: Tyrone Van Aswegen, Mike Holland, Tim Moan, Barry Kriha, Michael Labroad

55: Matias O'Curry, Don Stanley, Jared Temme, Jerry Pont, John Russell

55: Mike Lavery, John Griffith, Jay Garren, Pat Abell, Steve Rowley

55: Migual Carballo, Rob Helling, Tom Pedersen, Joe Milone, John Gross

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Please keep it clean, turn off CAPS LOCK and don't threaten anyone. Be truthful, nice and proactive. And share with us - we love to hear eyewitness accounts.

You must be a digital subscriber to view this article.

OWHsports on Twitter