You are the owner of this article.

Morningside’s Ryan is named NAIA coach of the year

  • 0
Morningside’s Ryan is named NAIA coach of the year

Morningside football coach Steve Ryan has a 98-31 record with the Mustangs.

SIOUX CITY, Iowa — Morningside College football coach Steve Ryan has been named the American Football Coaches Association’s 2012 NAIA national coach of the year.

Ryan guided the Mustangs to the best season in school when Morningside posted a 13-1 record and appeared in its first national championship football game.

The Mustangs finished the regular season 10-0, won their second consecutive Great Plains Athletic Conference championship and made their ninth consecutive postseason appearance in the NAIA Championship Series. They lost 30-27 in overtime against Marian University in the title game.

Ryan was named the AFCA’s NAIA Region 4 coach of the year in December.

He has a 98-31 record for a .760 winning percentage with the Mustangs, the highest victory rate in Morningside history. Ryan is second on Morningside’s all-time coaching victory list behind Jason Saunderson, who compiled a 118-93-11 record from 1912-41. Ryan has led Morningside to nine consecutive appearances in the NAIA Championship Series and to GPAC titles in 2005, 2011, and 2012.

Ryan was named the GPAC coach of the year in 2004, 2005, 2011, and 2012 and received AFCA Region 4 Coach of the Year recognition in 2005, 2011, and 2012. He was the 2004 NAIA National Coach of the Year.

This year’s other AFCA National Coach of the Year recipients are Notre Dame’s Brian Kelly in FBS, North Dakota State’s Craig Bohl in FCS, Valdosta State’s David Dean in NCAA Division II and St. Thomas’ Glenn Caruso in NCAA Division III.

The winners were honored at the AFCA coach of the year dinner.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Please keep it clean, turn off CAPS LOCK and don't threaten anyone. Be truthful, nice and proactive. And share with us - we love to hear eyewitness accounts.

You must be a digital subscriber to view this article.

OWHsports on Twitter