A pair of championship events sanctioned by the Sports Car Club of America return to the Cornhusker State from Friday to Sept. 12.

On Friday, the Pro Solo Championship takes to Lincoln Air Park for its national championship. As soon as those 300 or so cars complete their program on Sunday, 1,200 more sports cars will hit the concrete on the west side of the Lincoln Air Park for the Solo Nationals.

Steve Ducharme, activities director of the host Nebraska Region of the SCCA and a frequent competitor in both styles of races, said there really isn’t much difference between the two.

“The Pro Solo has a Christmas-tree type start much like drag racing,” Ducharme said. “Solo, on the other hand, has a rolling start to the starting line.”

Classes will be broken down into the various types within the three main categories of SCCA cars. Street is your everyday car with very minor adjustments allowed; Prepared allows some modifications; and Modified, as its name suggests, allows even more modifications.

Ducharme said the SCCA recently added a muscle class for cars such as Mustangs and Camaros.

During their runs down the course, drivers are required to make from 20 to 30 maneuvers, including slaloms, sweepers, straights, offset gates, increasing and decreasing radius turns and more. Hitting one of the pylons that outline the course is a two-second penalty. The competition at the Lincoln Air Park will crown national champions in every class in both Solo and Pro Solo, although Pro Solo also has a competition to decide the overall champion.

Ducharme said the Lincoln Air Park is an excellent site for the event because the concrete holds up well, there is plenty of room and the city of Lincoln provides great support.

While the SCCA national office runs the event, the Nebraska Region of SCCA is the official host and runs a test and tune course for competitors, and provides many of the chiefs or department heads for the event.

Track champions named

The point season is over at some tracks, which means it’s time to congratulate track champions.

Eagle Raceway: Doug Lovegrove in RaceSaver Sprints by a single point over Shon Pointer; Johnny Saathoff in Modifieds; Mark Leiting in SportMods; Adam Armstrong in Hobby Stocks; and Cole Krichau in Sport Compacts.

Beatrice Speedway: Shane Hiatt in Modifieds; Lance Borgman in SportMods; Kyle Vanover in Stock Cars; Brendon Stigge in Hobby Stocks; and Dillon Richards in Sports Compacts.

Shelby County Speedway (Harlan, Iowa): Chris Abelson in Modifieds; Todd Cooney in Late Models; Clint Luellen in SportMods; Mike Nichols in Stock Cars; Jason Kohl in Hobby Stocks; Cody Thompson in Sport Compacts; Terry Erwin in Bombers.

Contact the writer:

Get the headlines from Creighton, Nebraska, UNO, high schools and other area teams.

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Lee covers Midlands racing for The World-Herald.

Commenting is limited to Omaha World-Herald subscribers. To sign up, click here.

If you're already a subscriber and need to activate your access or log in, click here.

Recommended for you

Load comments

You must be a full digital subscriber to read this article You must be a digital subscriber to view this article.