While the Omaha Sports Commission Awards’ amateur athletes of the year were unable to accept their honors in person Thursday night, world champion boxer Terence “Bud” Crawford was there when his name was called.

Crawford was voted the OSCA for best sports moment — his title defense last October in Omaha before a record crowd.

He was a draw for picture-taking after the inaugural awards ceremony modeled after the Academy Awards, including sealed golden envelopes containing the winners’ names.

Former Omaha Benson basketball all-stater and Iowa All-American Andre Woolridge, who was one of three individuals inducted into the Omaha Sports Hall of Fame, said he thought he once played against the younger Crawford in an all-star game, but until Thursday hadn’t gotten to meet him.

Sign up for World-Herald daily sports updates

Get the headlines from Creighton, Nebraska, UNO, high schools and other area teams.

“I’m cheering for him every fight,’’ Woolridge said during his acceptance speech. “Everybody back home (in Sacramento) knows I’m from Omaha, and I’m thankful Terence is from Omaha.”

About 350 people attended the first OSCAs, including Mayor Jean Stothert as an award presenter, filling the recital hall at the Holland Performing Arts Center.

NFL draft pick Easton Stick of North Dakota State and Omaha Creighton Prep was voted male amateur athlete of the year, and Creighton volleyball All-American Jaali Winters was the female winner. Stick’s parents accepted for him, and Creighton coach Kirsten Bernthal Booth received Winters’ trophy.

Derrin Hansen of UNO men’s basketball was voted the coach of the year and Omaha Burke’s state championship football squad the team of the year.

The inaugural Steve Pivovar Sports Media Person of the Year award went to retired World-Herald sports writer Lee Barfknecht — he and Pivovar were colleagues for more than 35 years.

Former Omaha Sports Commission chairman Harley Schrager, who also founded the Pacesetters youth baseball program, was chosen as the first recipient of the Dr. Jack Lewis Sportsperson of the Year Award.

Woolridge, former NU national champion long jumper Angee Henry Nott, retired Omaha Skutt wrestling coach Brad Hildebrandt and the 1989 undefeated Class A state champion Millard South boys basketball team entered the hall, which inducted its first class since 2016.