It was a good thing William Amundsen took a cart Monday in the first of two qualifying rounds for the 52nd Nebraska men’s match play golf championship.

The back nine on his home course, Players Club, was a wild ride with four birdies, three pars and two bogeys. Amundsen’s 3-under 68 was a stroke better than the 69s by college golfers Tanner Owen (Nebraska) and Matthew Schaefer (Northeast Community College).

“I’m really trying to be patient,’’ Amundsen said. “Having a little local knowledge doesn’t hurt. There are some shots out here if you’re not used to playing, it can make a difference.”

He’ll be a cart rider throughout the tournament, which takes the low 32 after Tuesday’s final qualifying round to match play on Wednesday. The 36-hole final is Friday.

“I’m in my 40s now and obviously not as young as the kids I’m seeing on the range,’’ Amundsen said. “This course is a long walk, a hard walk. I know that from experience.

Neither the Nebraska Golf Association’s player of the year (and 2018 champ) Alex Schaake nor Kansas recruit and 2018 junior player of the year Luke Kluver is in the field. Schaake will be playing in the national Sunnehanna Amateur and Kluver is in the Western Junior.

Results after first qualifying rounds

William Amundsen, Omaha 68

Matthew Schaefer, Fordyce 69

Tanner Owen, Parkville, Mo. 69

Cade McCallum, Grand Island 70

Ryan Nietfeldt, Omaha 70

Tucker Knaak, Plainview 70

Alex Zillig, La Vista 71

Steve Buroker, Omaha 71

Nate Vontz, Lincoln 71

Grant Jabenis, Omaha 72

Brian Csipkes, Gretna 72

Matthew Unruh, Lincoln 72

Noah Hofman, McCook 72

John Sajevic, Fremont 72

AJ Nolin, Omaha 72

Andy Sajevic, Omaha 73

Cole Grandfield, Omaha 73

Jay Moore, Lincoln 73

Travis Minzel, Lincoln 73

Caleb Badura, Aurora 74

Daniel Pearson, Longmont, Colo. 74

Dan Huston, Omaha 74

Blake Giroux, Omaha 74

Matt Petersen, Omaha 74

Jayson Brueggemann, Lincoln 74

Brandt Radloff, Blair 75

Kevin Sullivan, Omaha 75

David Easley, Lincoln 75

Tyler Ehresman, Omaha 75

Kean Kontor, Fremont 75

Jace Kratzenstein, Kearney 75

Glenn Bills, Grand Island 75

Bryce Vuncannon, Columbus 76

Reed Malleck, York 76

Kellen Rossman, Norfolk 76

Brett Hoffman, Kearney 76

Jake Boor, Omaha 76

Mitchell Klooz, Imperial 76

Ryan Knispel, Omaha 76

Michael Croker, Gretna 76

Austin Murray, Kearney 76

Matt Kingston, Springfield 76

Scott Tridle, Lincoln 76

Josh Bartels, Lincoln 77

JT Hudson, Omaha 77

Josh Peters, Omaha 77

Mike Siwa, Omaha 77

Roger Sack, Lincoln 77

Danny Woodhead, Omaha 77

Grant Johnson, Lincoln 77

Johnathan Hudson, Omaha 77

Chris Rasmussen, Omaha 78

Tyler Welch, Seward 78

Christian Hall, Omaha 78

Mark Wright, Omaha 78

Tylar Samek, David City 78

John Lapour, Omaha 78

Luke Gutschewski, Omaha 79

Jason Kolbas, Lincoln 79

Nash Holm, Omaha 80

Jake Matzner, McCool Junction 80

Jeffrey Paschal, Papillion 80

Joe Torkelson, Omaha 80

Rourke Jensen, Lincoln 80

Jacob Godwin, Omaha 80

Vance Janssen, Blair 80

Ethan Blair, Omaha 81

Jacob Reckin, Bellevue 81

Mason Hale, Atkinson 81

Hudson Schulz, Lincoln 81

Rex Soulliere, Omaha 81

Patrick Clare, Lincoln 81

Josh Wilson, Papillion 81

Lucas Leinen, Bellevue 82

Alex Kubik, Aurora 82

Chad Geiger, Lincoln 82

Drew D’Ercole, Papillion 82

Evan Macke, Omaha 82

Sean Denning, Bellevue 82

Keevan Statz, Lincoln 83

Jason Eggers, Omaha 84

Ryan Rogers, Omaha 84

Jordan Hart, Omaha 84

Will Porter, Kearney 84

Evan Russo, Yutan 84

Preston Carbaugh, Cambridge 85

Charlie Levy, Omaha 85

Kaleb Fullerton, Omaha 87

Grant Maser, Gering 87

Vincent Nigro, Omaha 87

Sam Morse, Columbus 88

Andrew Morrissey, Omaha 88

Jack Riggins, Lincoln 88

Andrew Godwin, Omaha 89

Caleb Bukacek, Omaha 91

Jack Song, Omaha 92

Jayden Neal, North Platte 94

Scott Bohn, Lincoln WD

Charlie Burt, Omaha WD

Sign up for World-Herald daily sports updates

Get the headlines from Creighton, Nebraska, UNO, high schools and other area teams.

Bartels, Thiele win Junior PGA

Josh Bartels of Lincoln and Lindsey Thiele of Wahoo are the Nebraska Section PGA junior champions.

At Indian Trails near Beemer, Bartels defended his 2018 title while winning by three strokes. Thiele won the girls title by eight.

Also advancing to the national Junior PGA Championships are boys runner-up Jake Kluver of Norfolk and Katie Ruge of Norfolk, the highest girls finisher who belongs to the Nebraska Junior Golf association.

Instructor Wiren to visit Omaha

Omaha native Gary Wiren, a PGA Master Professional and senior director of instruction for Trump Golf Properties, will visit his hometown in June to speak and give clinics.

He’ll be at Happy Hollow for noontime activities on June 20; Pacific Springs for a First Tee of Omaha morning clinic and Omaha Country Club for a 5:30 p.m. clinic on June 21; and Spring Lake Park for a noon nine-hole hickory-golf exhibition against Omaha’s Randy Jensen in a match of former world and national hickory champions.