Yes, the same Class A schools seem to make the playoffs every year. And there’s an even smaller inner circle that are perennial threats to go deep into the postseason.

In the current two-year scheduling cycle, 14 schools have been to the playoffs both seasons. This year, Millard North and Papillion-La Vista South join them with Lincoln High and Papillion-La Vista dropping out.

Six schools didn’t get there this decade. Two come with asterisks. Elkhorn and Gretna moved into Class A in this scheduling cycle. The other four are Omaha South, Omaha Bryan, Omaha Northwest and Omaha Benson.

Perhaps more telling is the examination of when schools last won a playoff game. Obviously, eight did last year to form the quarterfinals. Three more had wins in 2017.

But 12 schools didn’t this decade. In addition to the six aforementioned schools, the others are Lincoln North Star, North Platte, Bellevue East, Fremont, Lincoln High and Lincoln Pius X. In Pius’ case, it has been in and out of the state’s largest class.

Fremont last won a playoff game in 1998, Lincoln High in 1992, Omaha Northwest in 1982 and Omaha South never.

As for this decade in Class B, which shrank to 23 teams the past two years, only Schuyler didn’t qualify. Seven other schools didn’t get past the first round — Gering, Alliance, Hastings, South Sioux City, Lexington, Elkhorn Mount Michael and Bennington. Lexington’s last win was 1997, with 1991 for Mount Michael and never for Bennington.


Last time in playoffs, win

Omaha South 2004 never

Lincoln Pius X 2018 never

Omaha Northwest 2008 1982

Lincoln High 2018 1992

Fremont 2017 1998

Omaha Benson 2009 2000

Omaha Bryan 2007 2000

Bellevue East 2014 2004

North Platte 2015 2004

Lincoln North Star 2015 2008

Elkhorn 2009 2009

Columbus 2014 2010

Lincoln Northeast 2015 2010

Lincoln Southwest 2018 2011

Papillion-La Vista 2018 2013

Norfolk 2017 2015

Omaha Central 2015 2015

Papillion-LV South 2017 2015

Millard North 2017 2016

Lincoln East 2018 2016

Om. Creighton Prep 2018 2017

Kearney 2018 2017

Omaha North 2018 2017

Bellevue West 2018 2018

Elkhorn South 2018 2018

Grand Island 2018 2018

Lincoln Southeast 2018 2018

Millard South 2018 2018

Millard West 2018 2018

Omaha Burke 2018 2018

Omaha Westside 2018 2018

Note: Gretna has been in Class A for the past two seasons only and has not qualified for the playoffs.

Sign up for daily headlines from NEPrepZone

Get a daily roundup of game recaps, player features and more in your inbox.


Bennington 2018 never

Elkhorn Mt. Michael 2018 1991

Lexington 2018 1997

South Sioux City 2012 2001

Hastings 2018 2007

Alliance 2018 2008

Schuyler 2008 2008

Gering 2011 2009

Crete 2014 2011

Omaha Gross 2017 2012

Ralston 2018 2013

Plattsmouth 2017 2015

Beatrice 2017 2016

Norris 2018 2016

Grand Island Northwest 2018 2017

Blair 2018 2018

McCook 2018 2018

Omaha Roncalli 2018 2018

Omaha Skutt 2018 2018

Seward 2018 2018

Scottsbluff 2018 2018

Waverly 2018 2018

York 2018 2018

2020, 2021 district projections

The next scheduling cycle bases Class A district assignments on how the schools fared in the NSAA point standings the previous cycle, using a serpentine method.

Here’s how I see the districts shaking out for the 2020 and 2021 seasons, based on no school falling below the 850 three-grade enrollment cutoff:

District 1: Millard West (809 points), Omaha Creighton Prep (727), Lincoln East (710), Lincoln Northeast (630), North Platte (629)

District 2: Millard South (800), Omaha North (728), Lincoln Pius X (705), Lincoln North Star (652), Fremont (627)

District 3: Omaha Burke (799), Lincoln Southwest (735), Papillion-La Vista South (701), Omaha Central (659), Omaha South (621)

District 4: Bellevue West (790), Kearney (738), Lincoln High (694), Columbus (665), Omaha Northwest (620)

District 5: Lincoln Southeast (781), Elkhorn South (744), Papillion-La Vista (685), Gretna (666), Bellevue East (613)

District 6: Grand Island (777), Omaha Westside (774), Millard North (683), Norfolk (667), Omaha Bryan (578), Omaha Benson (549)

Elkhorn leaves Class A because it will go to Class B while spinning off the new Elkhorn North — that means Class B could grow from 23 to 25 schools for football. South Sioux City the past two years opted down to Class B, but if its enrollment stays above 850 and it doesn’t opt down, it would go into District 5.

Last teams out

The teams in each class that were immediately on the outside of the playoff brackets were Papio (4-5) in Class A, Beatrice (3-6) on a tiebreaker in Class B, Mitchell (5-4) in C-1 (lost head-to-head tiebreaker with No. 16 Valentine), Johnson County (5-4) in C-2, South Loup (3-5) in Eight Man-1, Wauneta-Palisade (3-5) in Eight Man-2 and Dorchester (4-4) in Six Man.

Other teams with winning records not in the playoffs are Platteview, Lincoln Lutheran, Fairbury, Nebraska City, Chadron and Fort Calhoun in C-1, Bridgeport in C-2. These teams were ineligible because of enrollment cutoffs: Wakefield and Ravenna in Eight Man-1 and Humphrey/Lindsay Holy Family in Six Man.

Ratings comments

Top 10/Class A: New No. 6 Grand Island flips positions with Omaha Westside, which lost 41-26 at Millard South.

Class B: Bennington, winners of six of seven, moves into sixth after Hastings lost 49-13 at home to Grand Island Northwest.

Class C-1: New No. 10 Wayne bounced out then-No. 7 Wahoo Neumann with a 14-10 road win.

Class C-2: Sutton is third, with Bancroft-Rosalie/Lyons-Decatur dropping to fourth after losing 40-30 at No. 2 Oakland-Craig. Fremont Bergan returns at No. 10 after Shelby-Rising City lost its third straight game to a rated team.

Eight Man-1: Wisner-Pilger loses ground after losing 62-26 to Wakefield. Arcadia-Loup City beat previous No. 5 Elm Creek to bounce the Buffaloes from the ratings.

Eight Man-2: Some shuffling results from new No. 10 Elwood edging previous No. 8 Overton.

Get a daily roundup of game recaps, player features and more in your inbox.

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Reporter - High school sports

Stu is The World-Herald's lead writer for high school sports and for golf. Follow him on Twitter @stuOWH. Phone: 402-444-1041.

Commenting is limited to Omaha World-Herald subscribers. To sign up, click here.

If you're already a subscriber and need to activate your access or log in, click here.

Recommended for you

Load comments

You must be a full digital subscriber to read this article You must be a digital subscriber to view this article.