Each year, The World-Herald honors the state's best with our athlete of the year award. Here's every recipient.

* * *


2019: James Burks, Omaha Burke

2018: Kanon Koster, Kearney

2017: Cam Jurgens, Beatrice

2016: Ben Stille, Ashland-Greenwood

2015: Kevin Cahoy, Grand Island

2014: Harrison Phillips, Millard West

2013: Nathan Bazata, Howells-Dodge

2012: Mike Shoff, Cambridge

2011: Ted Lampkin, Omaha Central

2010: Deverell Biggs, Omaha Central

2009: Ron Coleman, Omaha North

2008: John Levorson, Crete

2007: Niles Paul, Omaha North

2006: Ian Dike, Lincoln SW

2005: Robert Rands, Bellevue East

2004: Danny Woodhead, North Platte

2003: Andy Birkel, Lincoln SE

2002: Shawn Swan, Ralston

2001: Alex Gordon, Lincoln SE

2000: Richard Ross, Lincoln High

Sign up for daily headlines from NEPrepZone

Get a daily roundup of game recaps, player features and more in your inbox.

1999: Trevor Johnson, Lincoln NE

1998: Aaron Golliday, York

1997: Matt Davison, Tecumseh

1996: John Gibson, Papillion-La Vista

1995: Ahman Green, Omaha Central

1994: Ted Butler, Lincoln SE

1993: Scott Frost, Wood River

1992: Erick Strickland, Bellevue West

1991: Clester Johnson, Bellevue West

1990: Cory Schlesinger, Columbus

1989: Scott Bream, Millard South

1988: Kevin Ramaekers, Norfolk Cath.

1987: Tom Haase, Aurora

1986: Leodis Flowers, Omaha Central

1985: Gerry Gdowski, Fremont

1984: John Kroeker, Henderson

1983: Jeff Taylor, Omaha Westside

1982: Larry Station, Omaha Central

1981: Marty Kobza, Schuyler

1980: Kevin Penner, Aurora

1979: John Sherlock, Omaha South

1978: Jim Hartung, Omaha South

1977: Mike McGee, Omaha North

1976: Tim Wurth, Omaha Burke

1975: Doug Phelps, Hastings

1974: Pat Hodges, Lexington

1973: Bob Siegel, Fairbury

1972: Bob Martin, David City

1971: Tom Kropp, Aurora

1970: Maurice Damkroger, Lincoln NE

1969: Johnny Rodgers, Omaha Tech

1968: Max Linder, Plattsmouth

1967: Tom Heller, Kearney

1966: Randy Reeves, Omaha Benson

1965: Dick Davis, Omaha North

1964: John Sanders, Grand Island

1963: Fred Hare, Omaha Tech

1962: David Lebsack, Lincoln NE

1961: Kent McCloughan, Broken Bow

1960: Bob Hohn, Beatrice

1959: Bob Eickholt, Omaha Holy Name

1958: Monte Kiffin, Lexington

1957: Mike Iseman, Fremont

1956: Duane Buchtel, Clay Center

1955: Tom Osborne, Hastings

1954: Richard Knaub, Scottsbluff

1953: Don Erway, Lincoln High

1952: John Neff, Fremont

1951: “Hoppy’’ McCue, Arapahoe


2019: Kalynn Meyer, Superior

2018: Kalynn Meyer, Superior

2017: Jess Schlautman, Omaha Skutt

2016: Chloe Akin-Otiko, Bellevue West

2015: Maddie Simon, Lincoln Pius X

2014: McKenzie Brown, Grand Island NW

2013: Alyssa Frauendorfer, Humphrey

2012: Kadie Rolfzen, Papillion-La Vista South

2011: Chelsea Albers, Papillion-La Vista

2010: Jordan Hooper, Alliance

2009: Gina Mancuso, Papillion-La Vista

2008: Nicole Brungardt, Norfolk Catholic

2007: Amber Hegge, Crofton

2006: Amber Hegge, Crofton

2005: Megan Neuvirth, West Point CC

2004: Jenna Cole, Lincoln East

2003: Christina Houghtelling, Cambridge

2002: Kristi Woodard, Bellevue West

2001: Laura Spanheimer, Omaha Marian

2000: K.C. Cowgill, Grand Island CC

1999: Laura Pilakowski, Columbus

1998: Kristie Korth, Columbus Scotus

1997: Kelly Cizek, Millard South

1996: Kelly Lindsey, Millard North

1995: Renee Saunders, Omaha Marian

1994: Sarah Fredstrom, Omaha Burke

1993: Teri Steer, Crete

1992: Allison Weston, Papillion-La Vista

1991: Kathy Travis, Lincoln Christian

1990: Nikki Stricker, Lincoln East

1989: Michelle Kush, Gibbon

1988: Jodi Stineman, Lincoln Southeast

1987: Diane Beideck, Millard North

1986: Darcy Cudaback, Exeter

1985: Dawn Crinklaw, Ralston

1984: Maurtice Ivy, Omaha Central

1983: Stacy Imming, Kearney

1982: Lynae Loseke, Columbus Lakeview

1981: Sue Lind, Albion

1980: Kelli Benson, Grand Island

1979: Chris Leigh, Platteview

1978: Rhonda McCormick, Wheatland

1977: Nancy Kindig, Hastings St. Cecilia

1976: Sondra Obermeier, Aurora

Get a daily roundup of game recaps, player features and more in your inbox.

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Commenting is limited to Omaha World-Herald subscribers. To sign up, click here.

If you're already a subscriber and need to activate your access or log in, click here.

Recommended for you

Load comments

You must be a full digital subscriber to read this article You must be a digital subscriber to view this article.