No. 1 Wahoo 21, No. 8 Wayne 7

Trevin Luben ran for two touchdowns to help Wahoo reach its first state football final. Luben scored his second touchdown two minutes into the second half on a 41-yard run to make it 14-0, but Wayne answered in the final minute of the quarter on a 47-yard run by Blake Bartos. But Wahoo regained its two-score lead when Thomas Waido scored with 8:38 left and the Warriors held on from there.

No. 2 Pierce 54, No. 3 Adams Central 14

Pierce rolled up 522 yards on the ground as the Bluejays advanced to the state final for the first time since 2010. Carson Oestreich rushed for five touchdowns to lead Pierce, while Brett Tinker added two more scores. Evan Johnson threw for 153 yards and two touchdowns to lead previously unbeaten Adams Central. Unbeaten Pierce has won its past nine games by at least 27 points.

Photos: Nebraska high school state football champions since 2004

Get a daily roundup of game recaps, player features and more in your inbox.

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Commenting is limited to Omaha World-Herald subscribers. To sign up, click here.

If you're already a subscriber and need to activate your access or log in, click here.

Recommended for you

Load comments

You must be a full digital subscriber to read this article You must be a digital subscriber to view this article.