You are the owner of this article.

Dragons take team title at Eastern Midlands championship

  • 0

PLATTSMOUTH, Neb. — Third-ranked Gretna finished off a season sweep of the Eastern Midlands Conference with a team title at the individual tournament Friday night at Plattsmouth.

The Dragons crowned four champions and had six other finalists in holding off new No. 1 Plattsmouth by eight points. Gretna also won the dual tournament in early January.

Top-ranked Logan Radik’s second-period pin in the final at 220 pounds put his team ahead for good. Trevor Fauver (106), Kobe Everson (152) and Josh Gasper (195) also won titles for the Dragons.

Plattsmouth was elevated to the top spot in the ratings after winning Omaha Skutt’s tournament last weekend.

The Blue Devils finished with 200 points, well ahead of third place Bennington, which is ranked fourth. Andrew Nielsen won at 113 pounds, Justin Williamson came out on top in sudden victory for the 126-pound crown, second-ranked Zach Prall won at 145 and No. 1s Andrew Null and Gage Orton earned major decisions at 160 and 170, respectively.

Bennington had a pair of champions in Jake Cluxton (132) and Josh Velasquez (138). Fourth-ranked Jordan Moyer of Nebraska City won at 120, beating two wrestlers ahead of him in the ratings. Norris’ No. 6 Gavin Eason upset third-ranked Grant Bruner of Gretna for the 182-pound title.

Waverly’s Justin Hennessy, ranked second in Class B, pinned Class A No. 1 Shane Henderson of Elkhorn South in the second period to take the heavyweight championship.

Team scores: Gretna 208, Plattsmouth 200, Bennington 137, Elkhorn South 112, Nebraska City 102, Blair 81, Waverly 55, Norris 42, Elkhorn 8.

Championship matches: 106: Trevor Fauver, Gretna, dec. Walker Moore, Blair, 6-1. 113: Andrew Nielsen, Plattsmouth, tech fall Broc Hall, Bennington, 17-2. 120: Jordan Moyer, Nebraska City, dec. Devin DeLancey, Bennington, 2-1. 126: Justin Williamson, Plattsmouth, dec. Lance Jarrett, Gretna, 4-2 SV. 132: Jake Cluxton, Bennington, dec. Dan Zeleny, Gretna, 9-3. 138: Josh Velasquez, Bennington, major dec. Cody Everhart, Gretna, 15-3. 145: Zach Prall, Plattsmouth, dec. Kyle Francois, Nebraska City, 7-4. 152: Kobe Everson, Gretna, dec. Kole Gray, Plattsmouth, 11-9. 160: Andrew Null, Plattsmouth, major dec. Jacob Olson, Gretna, 9-0. 170: Gage Orton, Plattsmouth, major dec. Cannon Ahrens, Gretna, 14-6. 182: Gavin Eason, Norris, dec. Grant Bruner, Gretna, 7-6. 195: Josh Gasper, Gretna, dec. Wyatt Knudsen, Elkhorn South, 6-1. 220: Logan Radik, Gretna, pinned Andrew Hamik, Elkhorn South, 3:34. 285: Justin Hennessy, Waverly, pinned Shane Henderson, Elkhorn South, 4:39.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Please keep it clean, turn off CAPS LOCK and don't threaten anyone. Be truthful, nice and proactive. And share with us - we love to hear eyewitness accounts.

You must be a digital subscriber to view this article.

OWHsports on Twitter