Nebraska athletics announced its 2019 Hall of Fame class Thursday, featuring seven distinguished Husker athletes and coaches.

This year the group includes two “pioneer inductees” in honor of the university’s 150th anniversary. Those recipients are Carol Frost, one of the school’s first female varsity coaches, and Ed Weir, an All-America football player and later a coach and administrator.

The Hall of Fame class also includes: Rhonda Blanford-Green (track and field, 1982-85), Greichaly Cepero (volleyball/basketball, 1999-2003), Wes Suter (gymnastics, 1983-86), Grant Wistrom (football, 1994-97) and Francis Allen (gymnastics coach, 1970-2009).

The 2019 class will be formally inducted on Aug. 30, then recognized during the Husker football game the next day against South Alabama.

Here's more information on each member of the class:

» Carol Frost: She was the first woman from Nebraska to compete in the Olympics, throwing discus at the 1968 Games in Mexico City. She reached that level despite competing at a time when women’s sports had not earned varsity status at Nebraska, and the university’s facilities were off limits to women. She returned to Nebraska in 1976 as the women’s cross country and track and field coach. She led the program to its first indoor and outdoor conference titles and posted three top-10 national finishes. Her son is Nebraska football coach Scott Frost.

» Ed Weir: A two-sport athlete, Weir was Nebraska football’s first two-time All-American in 1924 and 1925. He was also a member of the inaugural College Football Hall of Fame class in 1951, and his No. 35 jersey has been retired by Nebraska. Weir was a four-time conference champion in track. He returned to Nebraska as an assistant football coach and assistant track coach. He became the head track and field coach in 1939 and won 10 conference championships in 16 seasons. He also served as an assistant athletic director for 14 years, and the outdoor track and field facility is named after him.

» Francis Allen: He was involved in the Husker gymnastics program for nearly 50 years. He lettered as a gymnast from 1962-64, served as an assistant from 1965-69 and led the program as head coach from 1970-2009. He led the Huskers to eight NCAA team championships, including five consecutive titles from 1979-83. His gymnasts won 42 individual national titles, including nine all-around crowns, and claimed 171 All-America awards.

» Rhonda Blanford-Green: Blanford won four individual national championships. She was an 18-time Big Eight champion and an eight-time All-American. She holds the school records in the 50-meter hurdles, the 60-yard hurdles and the 55-meter hurdles. She was a member of three national championship teams, and the Huskers swept the indoor and outdoor Big Eight titles every year of her career.

» Greichaly Cepero: In volleyball, Cepero was a three-time All-American, two-time Big 12 player of the year and the national player of the year in 2000. She helped lead Nebraska to an undefeated record and national championship in 2000. In basketball, she played in 55 games over three seasons, scoring 276 career points, grabbing 255 rebounds and dishing out 67 assists. 

» Wes Suter: He was a five-time All-American and six-time Big Eight individual champion. As a senior he won the Nissen-Emery Award as the nation’s top gymnast. He won three individual national titles as a junior.

» Grant Wistrom: A member of three national title teams, Wistrom also was a three-time All-American and won the Lombardi Award in 1997. Nebraska went 49-2 during his career. Wistrom’s No. 98 jersey was retired in 1997, and he was inducted to the College Football Hall of Fame in 2009. A first-round draft pick, Wistrom played nine seasons in the NFL and won a Super Bowl with the St. Louis Rams.

Sign up for Big Red Today news alerts

Get a daily Husker news roundup, recruiting updates and breaking news in your inbox.

Get a daily Husker news roundup, recruiting updates and breaking news in your inbox.

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Commenting is limited to Omaha World-Herald subscribers. To sign up, click here.

If you're already a subscriber and need to activate your access or log in, click here.

Recommended for you

Load comments

You must be a full digital subscriber to read this article You must be a digital subscriber to view this article.