Scott Frost wins Home Depot Coach of the Year Award, will receive it during College Football Awards show

Scott Frost led Central Florida to an undefeated season and conference championship.

The accolades keep coming for Nebraska’s new football coach.

Scott Frost was announced Wednesday as winner of the 2017 Home Depot Coach of the Year Award, which will be presented to him Thursday at the College Football Awards show in Atlanta. The ceremony will air live on ESPN at 6 p.m.

Frost has also been named one of eight finalists for the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award, the American Football Coaches Association’s Region 1 Coach of the Year and the unanimous pick for American Athletic Conference Coach of the Year. He’s also one of 16 semifinalists for the George Munger Award.

This all comes after Frost led Central Florida to an undefeated season and conference title in his second year as coach. Frost on Saturday was officially announced as the next Nebraska football coach.

Frost, 42, is the fourth-youngest recipient of the Home Depot award and one of five to get it in his first or second year as a collegiate coach. Former Nebraska coach Frank Solich won it in 1999, his second year leading the Huskers.

Get a daily Husker news roundup, recruiting updates and breaking news in your inbox.

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Commenting is limited to Omaha World-Herald subscribers. To sign up, click here.

If you're already a subscriber and need to activate your access or log in, click here.

Recommended for you

Load comments

You must be a full digital subscriber to read this article You must be a digital subscriber to view this article.