Barring any unexpected flips or sudden change of hearts in the final 24 hours, Nebraska won't be signing players from Texas on Wednesday. That hasn't happened since 1983.

This is, perhaps, not a complete surprise given coach Mike Riley's commitment to canvass the entire country for prospects — declining, at least publicly, to label any particular region as a higher priority than another (besides the immediate 500-mile radius). There will be 14 different states represented when NU announces its 2016 recruiting class Wednesday.

And it's a fine group of prospects. Just none are from Texas.

I can't help but flash back to five years ago.

Feb. 3, 2011. That was the day that five players from Texas signed letters of intent to play football at Nebraska. It was the fifth straight year that an NU class had at least five Lone Star State natives.

It was also the first day then-coach Bo Pelini was asked about the potential recruiting impact of the Huskers' move to the Big Ten. Nebraska's Big 12 membership officially was set to expire in a few months. Would NU's brand — its relevance — fade away in Texas?

"(It's) really a non-issue. When you look at it, we only play a game or two in the state of Texas per year. The coverage that the Big Ten gets in Dallas and the state of Texas is tremendous. In a lot of respects, it's better than what you get in the Big 12. There were no issues and it really didn't even come up much because I think the kids have been excited about playing in the Big Ten and the things that lie in store for the future.”

Yet here's what has happened since...

2016: 0 signees from Texas

2015: 2

2014: 4

2013: 4

2012: 2

That after NU signed 27 Lone Star State products during Pelini's first four seasons. In the last 20 years (1996-2015), Nebraska has signed 72 recruits from Texas — which is the second-highest total, behind only the 89 in-state signees.

The Huskers haven't played a game in the state of Texas since they lost the Big 12 title to Oklahoma in 2010. They're not likely to play a regular-season game there in the next decade, either.

Texas A&M's move to the SEC has opened up the state to more powerhouse and high-profile suitors. The rise of Baylor and TCU has given prospects more appealing options in their backyards.

But Riley's not closing off any potential pipelines just yet.

During Riley's final five years at Oregon State, he signed 12 players from Texas — the second-highest total from any one state (California produced 55 OSU recruits).

Nebraska held a satellite camp in Dallas (the one in Houston was canceled because of weather). According to Husker Online, NU offered 37 different players from the Lone Star State. Running back Aphonso Thomas pledged to the Huskers, and then changed his mind. Linebacker Cameron Goode visited Lincoln in December, but chose to stick with his original commitment to California.

Maybe next year will be different. Maybe the 2016 cycle was just a result of recruiting's unpredictable nature. Maybe Nebraska doesn't need Texas.

It'll be worth watching, certainly.

* * *

The full list of Husker signees from Texas

2015: Devine Ozigbo, Jordan Stevenson

2014: Drew Brown, Josh Kalu, Trai Mosley, Larenzo Stewart

2013: Dwayne Johnson, Chongo Kondolo, Dimarya Mixon, Adam Taylor

2012: Tommy Armstrong, Aaron Curry

2011: Aaron Green, Charles Jackson, Givens Price, David Santos, Jamal Turner

2010: Ciante Evans, Jay Guy, Chase Harper, Harvey Jackson, Donovan Vestal

2009: Nick Ash, Rex Burkhead, Jesse Coffey, Andrew Green, Cody Green, Thaddeus Randle, Dontrayevous Robinson, Chris Williams

2008: David Grant, Courtney Osborne, Steven Osborne, Kody Spano, Brandon Thompson, Lester Ward, Alonzo Whaley, David Whitmore, Josh Williams

2007: Anthony Blue, Quentin Castille, Curenski Gilleylen, Adi Kunalic, Marcus Mendoza, Shawn Sullivan, Patrick Witt

2006: Will Henry

2005: Wallace Franklin, Cody Glenn, Brodrick Hunter

2004: Terrence Nunn

2003: Greg Austin, Titus Brothers, Steve Craver, David Dyches, J.B. Phillips, Adrian Turner

2002: Jermaine Leslie, Demorrio Williams

2001: Danieal Manning

2000: Willy Amos, T.J. Hollowell, Lannie Hopkins, Nick Povendo

1999: Carl Crawford

1998: Keyuo Craver, Mike Demps, Justin Smith

1997: Brandon Harrison, Joe Walker

1996: Justin Ferrell, Clint Finley

1995: Kris Brown, Julius Jackson

1994: Octavious McFarlin

1993: Sean Noster, Aaron Taylor, Shane Wells

1992: Scott Saltsman

1991: Aaron Graham

1990: Corey Dixon

1989: Byron Bennett, Marvin Callies, Chad Hunter, Jerry Irons, Mike Jefferson, John Reece, Billy Wade

1988: Jason Daniel, Travis Hill, Andre McDuffy, William Washington

1987: Jeff Chaney, Chris Garrett, Keithen McCant, William Thomas

1986: Doug Glaser, Kenny Walker, Jake Young, Jon Crippen, Jeff Miller

1985: Bill Bobbora, Kris Lamb, Cleo Miller, John Roschal, Broderick Thomas

1984: Wendell Wooten

1983: None

Commenting is limited to Omaha World-Herald subscribers. To sign up, click here.

If you're already a subscriber and need to activate your access or log in, click here.

Recommended for you

Load comments

You must be a full digital subscriber to read this article You must be a digital subscriber to view this article.

Your sports-only digital subscription does not include access to this section.

Upgrade to full digital for only $3 extra per month. If you need assistance, call us at (844) 466-1452 or e-mail

To start a new subscription or to add digital access to your print subscription, click Sign Up to join Subscriber Plus.

If you’re already a digital subscriber, Log In.

If you need other assistance, call (844) 466-1452 or email

Learn more about Subscriber Plus.