The Huskers were shut out of All-Big Ten offensive first, second and third teams, announced Wednesday by the conference.

Nebraska had four honorable mentions — offensive tackle Brenden Jaimes, receiver JD Spielman, receiver/running back Wan’Dale Robinson and running back Dedrick Mills.

Robinson also was a candidate for the freshman of the year award, which went to Purdue’s David Bell.

Nebraska as a team ranked seventh in the conference in scoring offense, third in rushing offense, ninth in passing offense and fifth in total offense.

Ohio State’s Justin Fields was named offensive player of the year and quarterback of the year. Other individual awards went to Wisconsin’s Jonathan Taylor (running back), Minnesota’s Rashod Bateman (receiver), Purdue’s Brycen Hopkins (tight end) and Iowa’s Tristan Wirfs (offensive lineman).

The Huskers had a pair of players make the All-Big Ten defensive teams released Tuesday: Lamar Jackson (second-team cornerback) and Khalil Davis (third-team defensive line). Darrion Daniels, Dicaprio Bootle, Mohamed Barry and Cam Taylor-Britt also received honorable mention.

Get a daily Husker news roundup, recruiting updates and breaking news in your inbox.

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Commenting is limited to Omaha World-Herald subscribers. To sign up, click here.

If you're already a subscriber and need to activate your access or log in, click here.

Recommended for you

Load comments

You must be a full digital subscriber to read this article You must be a digital subscriber to view this article.