LINCOLN — At the start of practice Monday, 16 Nebraska defenders found Blackshirts in their lockers. The special black jerseys traditionally designate the "first team" Huskers on the defense.

NU announced its Blackshirts awardees in a video.

This year's Blackshirts include:


Mick Stoltenberg

Carlos Davis

Khalil Davis 

Freedom Akinmoladun


Marcus Newby

Luke Gifford

Alex Davis

Chris Weber

Dedrick Young

Mohamed Barry 


Lamar Jackson

Eric Lee 

Dicaprio Bootle

Aaron Williams

Joshua Kalu

Antonio Reed

Get a daily Husker news roundup, recruiting updates and breaking news in your inbox.

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Commenting is limited to Omaha World-Herald subscribers. To sign up, click here.

If you're already a subscriber and need to activate your access or log in, click here.

Recommended for you

Load comments

You must be a full digital subscriber to read this article You must be a digital subscriber to view this article.