Scott Frost already has been named the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year by the Football Writers Association of America, and also was picked as Home Depot Coach of the Year during the annual ESPN awards show.

Scott Frost is a candidate for another postseason honor.

Frost on Friday was named one of seven finalists for the 2017 Dodd Trophy, the annual coach of the year award presented by the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation and the Peach Bowl.

According to the Dodd Trophy release, the top candidates embody the award’s three pillars of scholarship, leadership and integrity, both on and off the field. Other finalists are Mark Richt of Miami, Kirby Smart of Georgia, Paul Chryst of Wisconsin, Pat Fitzgerald of Northwestern, David Shaw of Stanford and Dabo Swinney of Clemson.

Frost previously has been named the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year and the Home Depot Coach of the Year. He also is a finalist for the George Munger Collegiate Coach of the Year and the Paul "Bear" Bryant Coach of the Year awards.

Frost was named Nebraska head coach on Dec. 2 after leading Central Florida to a 12-0 record and American Athletic Conference championship. Frost and his staff currently are coaching UCF during Peach Bowl preparations.

Get a daily Husker news roundup, recruiting updates and breaking news in your inbox.

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Commenting is limited to Omaha World-Herald subscribers. To sign up, click here.

If you're already a subscriber and need to activate your access or log in, click here.

Recommended for you

Load comments

You must be a full digital subscriber to read this article You must be a digital subscriber to view this article.