Damarcus Simpson

Chadron State freshman Damarcus Simpson has been named the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference field athlete of the year.

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. — Chadron State freshman Damarcus Simpson has been named the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference field athlete of the year.

Simpson, a freshman from Lafayette, Georgia and a two-time All-American, scored 29 points for the Eagles at the RMAC conference meet last weekend. While also running on a fifth-place 400-meter relay. Simpson won the men’s long jump with a leap of 24 feet, 10 inches, placed second in the 100 meters with a time of 10.46, was third in the triple jump (47-5) and placed fourth in the high jump with a career-best leap of 6-4.

Simpson will be competing at the Division II national outdoor meet in Allendale, Michigan, from May 21 to 23. He’s ranked second in the nation in the long jump.

At the conference meet, the Eagles finished with a combined 25 top-four finishes to account for 11 first-team All-Conference selections and 14 second-team selections.

To qualify, individuals must place in the top four at the conference meet. The top two performers make up the first team, while third and fourth are second team.

The Eagles had seven top-two finishes on the men’s side and four on the women’s. They were Simpson in the 100 and long jump, Zerek Jones in the 400, Chris Cutcher in the 110 hurdles, Skyler Hoopes in the pole vault, Charith Kapukotuwa in the shot and discus, Stachia Reuwsaat in the long jump, Katelyn Ellis in the high jump, and Mel Herl in the shot and discus.

CSC’s second-team selections were Jared Thomsen in the 400 hurdles, Simpson in the high jump and triple jump, Kyle McCarthy in the shot, Kapukotuwa in the hammer throw, Xavier Kvistad in the decathlon, Jayme Nunes in the 10,000, Tessa Gorsuch in the 100 hurdles, Kenzie May in the high jump, Angelique Urenda in the high jump and pole vault, Keri Ruff in the discus, Herl in the hammer throw and Shelby Bozner in the heptathlon.

The track athletes of the year are Tabor Stevens of Adams State and Salcia Slack of New Mexico Highlands. Slack was also named the RMAC outdoor field athlete of the year and the RMAC athlete of the meet.

CSU-Pueblo’s Derrick Williams was named the men’s athlete of the meet. South Dakota Mines’ Tristan Anastas was named the freshman of the year, while CSU-Pueblo’s Rachael Lopez was the woman freshman of the year.

Western State coach Chris Bradford was named the men’s coach of the year. New Mexico Highlands Bob DeVries earned that honor for the women.

Get the headlines from Creighton, Nebraska, UNO, high schools and other area teams.

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Commenting is limited to Omaha World-Herald subscribers. To sign up, click here.

If you're already a subscriber and need to activate your access or log in, click here.

Recommended for you

Load comments

You must be a full digital subscriber to read this article You must be a digital subscriber to view this article.