ST. LOUIS (AP) — North Dakota State quarterback Easton Stick was named offensive player of the year and Bison linebacker Jabril Cox was named defensive player of the year in the Missouri Valley Football Conference.

This is the seventh time in conference history that one team has claimed both the offensive and defensive players of the year, and the first time since 2010 when Western Illinois’ Matt Barr and linebacker Kyle Glazier were selected.

Stick, an Omaha Creighton Prep graduate, is the second NDSU player to earn the league’s top offensive honor along with quarterback Brock Jensen. Cox is the third NDSU player to be selected on defense, a group that includes Schuyler graduate Kyle Emanuel.

South Dakota State running back Pierre Strong Jr. was voted freshman of the year.

The awards are voted on by Valley media members. All-conference teams will be named Monday.

Copyright 2018 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Sign up for World-Herald news alerts

Be the first to know when news happens. Get the latest breaking headlines sent straight to your inbox.

Get the headlines from Creighton, Nebraska, UNO, high schools and other area teams.

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Commenting is limited to Omaha World-Herald subscribers. To sign up, click here.

If you're already a subscriber and need to activate your access or log in, click here.