Sometimes the shortest answers are the most telling.

“Wow,” McCook coach Jeff Gross said.

Blair wide receiver Vance Janssen left that impression on Gross after McCook faced him in the Class B state quarterfinals.

“I think Vance is the second-best wide receiver in the state, behind CJ Johnson,” Blair coach Bryan Soukup said. “Vance often had to go against double coverage.

“He’s probably the best athlete I’ve had the honor to coach. A great kid with great character.”

Janssen and Isaiah Ramsey, who quarterbacked Omaha Skutt to back-to-back Class B state championships, are the honorary captains of The World-Herald’s All-Omaha Area team, which honors players not in the Metro Conference.

Ramsey was 16-2 in his final 18 games as a starter, including a 40-10 win over Elkhorn in last month’s title game.

The 24-player team, which was an all-senior unit in 2013, includes three juniors, two sophomores and the first freshman — Elkhorn South running back Moses Bryant.

The sophomores, both from Class C-1 state runner-up Ashland-Greenwood, are offensive lineman Brett Kitrell and running back Trevor Nichelson. The juniors are offensive lineman Logan Hoyt of Plattsmouth, place-kicker Pat Mucha of Omaha Roncalli and punter Nick Goudie of Elmwood-Murdock.

Goudie’s school, along with Wahoo and Wahoo Neumann, are now eligible for All-Omaha Area honors in an adjustment in newspaper circulation areas.

On the offensive unit are Janssen and Tyler Craven of Ashland at receiver; Kitrell, Hoyt, Brett Stinson of Elkhorn South, Jacob LaMarche of Ralston and Shane Holzworth of Elkhorn as offensive linemen; Ramsey at quarterback; Bryant, Nichelson and Hunter Smith of Skutt at running back; and Mucha as kicker.

The defenders are linemen Kyle O’Neill and DJ McGargill of Skutt and Jack Morock of Elkhorn, linebackers Jared Brugman of Gretna, Ian Mertlik of Blair, Austin Rischling of Bennington, Chase Hazlewood of Elkhorn and Telvin Davis of Boys Town; defensive backs Jake Batenhorst of Elkhorn Mount Michael, Trent Jeary of Gretna and Connor Dukes of Plattsmouth; and Goudie as punter.

Observations of The World-Herald sports staff and nominations by coaches determine the newspaper’s honor teams. All coaches were sent nomination forms.


WR Vance Janssen, Blair, 6-1, 175, Sr.

WR Tyler Craven, Ashland-Greenwood, 6-2, 175, Sr.

OL Brett Stinson, Elkhorn South, 6-4, 290, Sr.

OL Jacob LaMarche, Ralston, 6-1, 270, Sr.

OL Logan Hoyt, Plattsmouth, 6-0, 265, Jr.

OL Shane Holzworth, Elkhorn, 5-10, 230, Sr.

OL Brett Kitrell, Ashland-Greenwood, 6-3, 245, So.

QB Isaiah Ramsey, Omaha Skutt, 6-3, 205, Sr.

RB Trevor Nichelson, Ashland-Greenwood, 5-10, 180, So.

RB Moses Bryant, Elkhorn South, 5-11, 180, Fr.

RB Hunter Smith, Omaha Skutt, 5-10, 200, Sr.

K Pat Mucha, Omaha Roncalli, 6-0, 180, Jr.


DL Kyle O’Neill, Omaha Skutt, 6-2, 220, Sr.

DL DJ McGargill, Omaha Skutt, 6-2, 205, Sr.

DL Jack Morock, Elkhorn, 6-3, 220, Sr.

LB Jared Brugmann, Gretna, 6-2, 225, Sr.

LB Ian Mertlik, Blair, 6-0, 180, Sr.

LB Austin Rischling, Bennington, 6-4, 210, Sr.

LB Chase Hazlewood, Elkhorn, 5-11, 185, Sr.

LB Telvin Davis, Boys Town, 5-7, 173, Sr.

DB Jake Batenhorst, Elkhorn Mt. Michael, 6-2, 185, Sr.

DB Trent Jeary, Gretna, 5-9, 160, Sr.

DB Connor Dukes, Plattsmouth, 6-0, 165, Sr.

P Nick Goudie, Elmwood-Murdock, 5-10, 150, Jr.

Honorary captains: Vance Janssen, Isaiah Ramsey


Arlington: Jonathan Smailys, Trevor Koger. Ashland-Greenwood: Ben Stille, Alex DeGarmo, Bryce Chudomelka, Ryan Schuster, Cory Washburn, Dawson Grell, Walker Fisher. Bennington: Tristen Nicks, Riley Rischling, Jake Bressman, Dan Bressman. Blair: Ethan Cox, Casey Harper, Brodie Wakefield, Lukas Vopnford, Ryan Fetters, Connor Yost, Sean Petersen. Boys Town: Sam Saintizaire. Elkhorn: Kyle Hill, Drew Smith, Hunter Treynor, Anthony Sufficool. Elkhorn Mount Michael: Chris Riddle, Jake Batenhorst, Jake Mumby, Chase Goddard, Mick Steier. Elkhorn South: Chase Denton, Brandon McDonald, Shane Henderson, James Morgen, Tanner Meyo, Collin Point, Cole Butler, Grant Nelson. Elmwood-Murdock: Tyler Oehlerking, Christian Jones, Zach Dwyer, Brandon Frates, Gary Ritnour. Fort Calhoun: Tyler Ryan, Tyler Pace, Frederick Lehman. Gretna: Dillon Kanne, Jared Samuelson, John Roll, Logan Radik. Louisville: Jake Mohler, Wade Knott, Hunter Dillon, Nic Snodgrass. Mead: Alex Quinn, Blake Schmidt. Omaha Brownell-Talbot: Jonathan Vrana. Omaha Gross: Joe McCoy, Tony Sacco, Jeff Pospichal, Roman Andrews. Omaha Roncalli: Brendon Findall, Andrew Lamer, Pat Mucha, Mike Wilmes, Connor Berg. Omaha Skutt: Thomas Pivovar, Nathan Purcell, Sean McCormick, Christian Peters, Paul Semin. Plattsmouth: CJ Neumann, Gage Orton, Matt Rathman, Noah Sabatka, Travis Sabatka. Ralston: Joey Weber, Taylor Murph, Scott Passmore. Wahoo: Gavin Iversen, Justin Jarman, Ethan Stratman. Wahoo Neumann: Noah Vedral, Theo Blum, Cole Prohaska. Yutan: Cody Feist, Levi Kult.

Contact the writer:

Get the headlines from Creighton, Nebraska, UNO, high schools and other area teams.

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Commenting is limited to Omaha World-Herald subscribers. To sign up, click here.

If you're already a subscriber and need to activate your access or log in, click here.

Recommended for you

Load comments

You must be a full digital subscriber to read this article You must be a digital subscriber to view this article.