aia pictures

AIA Nebraska, a chapter of the American Institute of Architects, announced this year’s design award winners in conjunction with its annual Excellence in Design Gala Nov. 9 at the Holland Performing Arts Center in Omaha. The four Honor Awards and eight Merit Awards were saluted from 81 submissions by Nebraska architects.

Jury members, from Toronto, Canada, were Brigitte Shim, FRAIC, Hon. FAIA, Shim-Sutcliffe Architects, jury chair; Barry Sampson, International Associate AIA, Baird Sampson Neuert Architects; and Marianne McKenna, International Associate AIA, KPMB Architects.

AIA Nebraska invited the general public to vote online for their favorites among a field of distinguished entrants. Seven projects emerged as winners.

The Excellence in Design program is an annual event for Nebraska architects who submit built and unbuilt projects. Categories for consideration include Architecture, Interior Architecture, Unbuilt, Details and Masonry. In addition, there are two categories for emerging architects and architecture students, including Unbuilt Design and Architectural Detail. Projects are judged based on a variety of features, including unique design, originality, extended use attributes, sustainability, budget and use of environmental surroundings.

AIA Nebraska supports architects in fulfilling their commitment to excellence in design and livability in our buildings and communities. Find more information on this year’s design winners and past winners on the American Institute of Architects, Nebraska Chapter’s website

Be the first to know when news happens. Get the latest breaking headlines sent straight to your inbox.

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Commenting is limited to Omaha World-Herald subscribers. To sign up, click here.

If you're already a subscriber and need to activate your access or log in, click here.

Load comments

You must be a full digital subscriber to read this article You must be a digital subscriber to view this article.