DES MOINES — The Iowa Democratic Party has named its new leaders.

State Rep. Tyler Olson was elected as state party chairman on Friday, and Troy Price was named the party’s new executive director.

Olson of Cedar Rapids was recently re-elected to his fourth term in the Iowa House, where he serves as ranking member of the Appropriations Committee.

Price most recently served as political director for President Barack Obama’s campaign in Iowa in 2012. Before that, he was executive director of One Iowa, the state’s largest LGBT advocacy organization. He also has served in the administrations’ of former Iowa Govs. Tom Vilsack and Chet Culver.

Olson and Price replace former state party Chairwoman Sue Dvorsky and former Executive Director Norm Sterzenbach. — AP

Copyright 2013 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Commenting is limited to Omaha World-Herald subscribers. To sign up, click here.

If you're already a subscriber and need to activate your access or log in, click here.

Recommended for you

Load comments

You must be a full digital subscriber to read this article You must be a digital subscriber to view this article.