» The Douglas County Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) was recognized for its planning for chemical emergencies at an Emergency Planning and Preparedness Conference last month.

The committee received the Outstanding LEPC Award for communities of 80,000 or more residents. The conference, held in Overland Park, Kan., discussed methods to help prevent hazardous chemical releases and how to handle them if they occur. Representatives of fire departments, emergency medical agencies, law enforcement agencies, private industry, city and county emergency management officials, and state and federal agencies attended.

 » Matthew Schlte, Jerry Sellentin and Lisa Willman were named as new volunteer commissioners to ServeNebraska, the Nebraska Volunteer Service Commission. They will join 12 others on the commission. They were appointed to three-year terms, which are renewable.

 » Jarrod Lane of Fort Calhoun, Neb., and Jason Volkmer of Omaha will receive the James Beard Foundation Culinary Arts Scholarship for the second time each, Omaha Steaks announced.

The James Beard Foundation gives scholarships annually to students who are pursuing work in culinary fields such as baking, nutrition and food studies. Both Lane and Volkmer are students at Metropolitan Community College in the culinary arts program.

 » Dr. Wayne Stuberg has been appointed associate director of the Munroe-Meyer Institute at the University of Nebraska Medical Center.

Stuberg, a physical therapist, a pediatric certified specialist and member of the Fellows of the American Physical Therapy Association, has been with MMI for 29 years and director of the physical therapy department since 1987. Since 2010, Stuberg has been coordinating educational programming across MMI as part of a University Centers for Excellence in Developmental Disabilities Education, Research and Service grant.

 » NET Radio and NET Television won eight awards, including five gold awards, at the Nebraska Broadcasters Association Awards of Excellence in August.

NET Radio received four gold awards and one bronze, including “Service to Children” and “Best In-Depth Sports Story or Series.” NET Television won a gold award for “Best Live Sports Play-By-Play Production” and two others.

 » Omaha South High School student Yesenia Rodriguez was honored by Gov. Dave Heineman with the Governor’s Points of Light youth award. Rodriguez was honored for her work with students struggling to learn English as a second language.

Rodriguez, having overcome the language barrier herself in the Dual Language program at her school, has worked with the English Language Learners program three nights a week during the school year to help those learning English.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Please keep it clean, turn off CAPS LOCK and don't threaten anyone. Be truthful, nice and proactive. And share with us - we love to hear eyewitness accounts.

You must be a digital subscriber to view this article.