The major disaster declaration for Nebraska has been amended to authorize public assistance grants for 50 counties to help pay for public infrastructure damaged in the March winter storm and flooding.

Previously, 65 counties and five tribal nations were approved for public assistance grants to reimburse the cost of emergency services and debris removal, including direct federal assistance (categories A-B).

Damage assessments are continuing, and more counties and tribal nations may be designated for additional reimbursement for public infrastructure (categories C-G), such as roads and bridges, water control facilities, buildings and equipment, utilities, parks and recreational areas.

Sign up for World-Herald news alerts

Be the first to know when news happens. Get the latest breaking headlines sent straight to your inbox.

A Saturday update from the Federal Emergency Management Agency said the following counties are now eligible for categories C-G at a federal cost share of at least 75 percent:

Adams, Antelope, Blaine, Boone, Box Butte, Boyd, Buffalo, Burt, Butler, Cass, Cedar, Colfax, Cuming, Custer, Dakota, Dixon, Dodge, Douglas, Fillmore, Frontier, Furnas, Gage, Garfield, Gosper, Greeley, Hall, Holt, Howard, Jefferson, Johnson, Knox, Lancaster, Logan, Loup, Madison, Morrill, Nance, Nemaha, Otoe, Pawnee, Pierce, Platte, Richardson, Saline, Sarpy, Sherman, Valley, Wayne, Washington and Wheeler Counties.

Individual assistance for homeowners, renters and businesses has been approved in Knox, Thurston, Boone, Buffalo, Caster, Richardson, Butler, Cass, Colfax, Dodge, Douglas, Nemaha, Sarpy, Saunders and Washington Counties and the Santee Sioux Nation.

Additional areas may be designated as damage assessments are completed.

As of Saturday, 3,838 applicants have applied for individual assistance, and $12,427,992 in aid has been approved. More than $11 million of that was for housing assistance, which can include rent for a temporary place to stay or housing repairs.