University of Nebraska President Hank Bounds has announced the winners of NU’s top faculty awards.

They went to five faculty members, one from the University of Nebraska at Omaha and four from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

They are UNL’s Lloyd Bell, Kwame Dawes, Evgeny Tsymbal and Mario Scalora, and UNO’s William Mahoney.

Outstanding Teaching and Instructional Creativity Awards went to Bell, a professor in the UNL Department of Agricultural Leadership, Education and Communication; and UNO’s Mahoney, associate professor in the School of Interdisciplinary Informatics and chairman of the graduate program in cybersecurity.

Outstanding Research and Creativity Awards went to UNL’s Dawes, professor of English and editor of “Prairie Schooner”; and UNL’s Tsymbal, professor of physics.

The Innovation, Development and Engagement Award went to UNL’s Scalora, professor of psychology and director of the NU system’s Public Policy Center.

Those are the NU system’s most prestigious awards for teaching, research and engagement. Winners were selected by an NU-wide committee. The winners will receive $10,000 each.