Hank Bounds will leave as NU’s president in August.

A former speaker of the Nebraska Legislature and an Omaha philanthropist are among those being considered for the University of Nebraska presidential search committee.

The Board of Regents will consider the appointment of a 23-member search committee at its meeting next week.

A press release from NU said a public nomination process for the committee generated almost 200 names.

The committee represents students, faculty, staff, alumni, supporters, the business and agricultural communities and members of the public.

Current NU President Hank Bounds is leaving the position later this summer. He came to NU in 2015 after serving as commissioner of higher education at the Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning.

Executive Vice President and Provost Susan Fritz will serve as interim president during the search for a permanent successor.

The committee will help gather and provide input on the profile for the next president and the priority issues facing the university in the coming years, NU said in a press release.

Sign up for World-Herald news alerts

Be the first to know when news happens. Get the latest breaking headlines sent straight to your inbox.

Those wanting to submit feedback can email presidentsearch@nebraska.edu.

The board will consider the following people to serve on the committee:

  • Jim Pillen of Columbus, District 3, Board of Regents (Committee Chair).
  • Theresa Barron-McKeagney, associate dean, College of Public Administration and Community Service and professor of social work, University of Nebraska at Omaha.
  • Susie Buffett, chairwoman, the Sherwood Foundation, Omaha.
  • Matt Davison, associate athletic director for football, University of Nebraska-Lincoln.
  • Kwame Dawes, Chancellor’s Professor of English and Glenna Luschei Editor of Prairie Schooner, University of Nebraska-Lincoln.
  • Mike Flood, entrepreneur, attorney and former Speaker of the Legislature, Norfolk.
  • Jeffrey P. Gold, M.D., chancellor, University of Nebraska at Omaha and University of Nebraska Medical Center.
  • Bruce Grewcock, chairman and CEO, Kiewit Corp., Omaha.
  • Tom Henning, president and CEO, Cash-Wa Distributing Co., Kearney.
  • Gilbert Hinga, dean of student affairs, University of Nebraska at Kearney.
  • Sarah Hotovy, third-year medical student from York, University of Nebraska Medical Center.
  • Stancia Jenkins, associate to the president and assistant vice president for diversity, access and inclusion, University of Nebraska.
  • JoAnn Martin, CEO, Ameritas Mutual Holding Co., Lincoln.
  • Dawn Mollenkopf, associate professor of teacher education and 2019-20 Faculty Senate President, University of Nebraska at Kearney.
  • Steve Nelson, president, Nebraska Farm Bureau, Axtell.
  • Tonn Ostergard, chairman and CEO, Crete Carrier Corp., Lincoln.
  • Lance Perez, dean of the College of Engineering and Omar H. Heins Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Nebraska-Lincoln.
  • Bob Phares of North Platte, District 7, Board of Regents.
  • Rob Schafer of Beatrice, District 5, Board of Regents.
  • Bryan Slone, president, Nebraska State Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Omaha.
  • Tanya Storer, owner, Rocking J Ranch, Whitman.
  • Barbara Weitz of Omaha, District 8, Board of Regents.
  • Aya Yousuf, University of Nebraska at Omaha student regent and junior political science and economics major.

Sign up for The World-Herald's afternoon updates

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Emily covers K-12 education, including Omaha Public Schools. Previously, Emily covered local government and the Nebraska Legislature for The World-Herald. Follow her on Twitter @emily_nitcher. Phone: 402-444-1192.

Commenting is limited to Omaha World-Herald subscribers. To sign up, click here.

If you're already a subscriber and need to activate your access or log in, click here.

Recommended for you

Load comments

You must be a full digital subscriber to read this article You must be a digital subscriber to view this article.