Six Nebraska schools have been recognized as National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2019.

The recognition is based on a school’s overall academic performance or progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups.

The schools are: Columbian Elementary School in the Omaha Public Schools; Elkhorn Middle School in the Elkhorn Public Schools; Lincoln Montessori Elementary School in the Norfolk Public Schools; Mount Michael Benedictine School in Elkhorn and St. Wenceslaus Catholic School, both in the Archdiocese of Omaha Catholic Schools district; and Sidney High School in the Sidney Public Schools.

All six Nebraska schools were honored in the Exemplary High Performing Schools category.

Now in its 37th year, the Blue Ribbon program has recognized more than 9,000 schools.

Sign up for The World-Herald's afternoon updates

Receive a summary of the day’s popular and trending stories from

Sign up for The World-Herald's afternoon updates

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Commenting is limited to Omaha World-Herald subscribers. To sign up, click here.

If you're already a subscriber and need to activate your access or log in, click here.

Recommended for you

Load comments

You must be a full digital subscriber to read this article You must be a digital subscriber to view this article.