DES MOINES — Gov. Terry Branstad on Monday announced his eight choices to the nonpartisan Judicial Nominating Commission, a citizen board responsible for interviewing and selecting nominees to the Iowa Supreme Court and Iowa Court of Appeals.

Branstad chose Liz Doll of Council Bluffs, Jerry Welter of Monticello, Kathy Pearson of Cedar Rapids, Scott Bailey of Otley, Helen Sinclair of Melrose, John Bloom of West Des Moines, Patricia Roberts of Carroll and Steve Sukup of Clear Lake. All eight are Republicans.

The commission is part of Iowa’s merit-based judicial election and retention system that has been in place since 1962.

The governor selects two candidates of each gender from Iowa’s four congressional districts. Iowa State Bar Association lawyers select an additional eight people. All of the appointments are subject to State Senate’s approval.

Senior Justice David Wiggins will lead the commission. — AP

Copyright 2013 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Please keep it clean, turn off CAPS LOCK and don't threaten anyone. Be truthful, nice and proactive. And share with us - we love to hear eyewitness accounts.

You must be a digital subscriber to view this article.