High school notes: Home teams, visiting teams announced for state football finals; Aurora heading to C-1 and more

Omaha North will be the home team for Tuesday's Class A football championship game at Memorial Stadium.

Omaha North will be the home team and Kearney the visiting team for next Tuesday’s Class A football championship game at Memorial Stadium.

Home team fans sit in the East Stadium, with the West Stadium for the visiting team side.

The Class A final is 7:15 p.m. Tuesday.

Seating assignments for other finals:

Class B (7:15 p.m. Monday): York-east, Omaha Skutt-west.

Class C-1 (10:15 a.m. Tuesday): Norfolk Catholic-east, Boone Central/Newman Grove-west.

Class C-2 (2:45 p.m. Tuesday): Centennial-east, Yutan-west.

Eight Man-1 (10:15 a.m. Monday): East Butler-east, South Loup-west.

Eight Man-2 (2:45 p.m. Monday): Blue Hill-east, Bruning-Davenport/Shickley-west.

Aurora heading to C-1

Aurora will be in Class C-1 football after all.

At its meeting Monday night, the six-member Aurora school board deadlocked on a vote to opt up to Class B, where the Huskies have competed for many years. A majority vote was needed.

Under the state’s new football-only classification system that takes effect next year, schools with 425 or more boys are in Class A, with 160-424 the range for Class B, 70-159 for Class C-1 and under 70 for C-2. To be eligible for the playoffs, 47 is the limit in eight man and 27 in six man.

Aurora’s boys enrollment next year is 153. Other schools with enrollments that take them out of Class B are Platteview, Nebraska City, Sidney and Holdrege.

For this season, Aurora opted up to Class B in volleyball and girls basketball after being the first school to fall outside the 32-team cutoff for Class B in those sports.

Madison’s board voted Monday to shift from 11-man to eight-man. The Dragons have been in Class C-1, but their enrollment next year would have put them in C-2.

Crawford’s board voted Monday to have the Rams play six-man instead of eight-man. Their enrollment of 25 makes them playoff eligible.

Another recent development was the formation of an eight-man co-op team between Leyton and Banner County, which are 57 miles apart. Banner County couldn’t field a six-man team this year.

Kiwanis honors

The Omaha Westside Kiwanis Club recently recognized four football players from its zone for football skill, leadership and character.

Those honored were Omaha Northwest running back Cameron Purvis, Omaha Westside quarterback Dylan Plautz, Omaha Creighton Prep linebacker Drew Dunham and Omaha Burke linebacker Bobby Murray.

Reporter - High school sports

Stu is The World-Herald's lead writer for high school sports and for golf. Follow him on Twitter @stuOWH. Phone: 402-444-1041.

Commenting is limited to Omaha World-Herald subscribers. To sign up, click here.

If you're already a subscriber and need to activate your access or log in, click here.

Load comments

You must be a full digital subscriber to read this article You must be a digital subscriber to view this article.