Each year, The World-Herald honors the state's best with our coach of the year award. Here's every recipient.

* * *


2018: Josh Luedtke, Om. Creighton Prep

2017: Doug Denson, Millard South

2016: Bruce Chubick, Omaha South

2015: Larry Martin, Omaha North

2014: Matt Turman, Omaha Skutt

2013: Bob Greco, Omaha Westside

2012: Jeff Bellar, Norfolk Catholic

2011: Fred Petito, Millard North

2010: Tom Beck, Creighton Prep

2009: Mark Brahmer, Pierce

2008: Chuck McGinnis, Crete

2007: Eric Behrens, Omaha Central

2006: Mike Speirs, Howells

2005: Brad Hildebrandt, Omaha Skutt

2004: Jeff Gross, McCook

2003: Gary DeBoer, Lawrence-Nelson

2002: Dave Oman, Grand Island

2001: Rocky Almond, Alliance

2000: Doug Woodard, Bellevue West

1999: Tim Aylward, Lincoln Pius X

1998: Roger Mathiesen, Kearney

1997: Gene Suhr, Papillion-La Vista

1996: Rick Collura, Lincoln NE

1995: Dan McLaughlin, Norfolk

1994: Curlee Alexander, Omaha North

1993: Mark Wortman, Elkhorn

1992: Chuck Mizerski, Lincoln SE

1991: Doug Goltz, Falls City SH

1990: Mick Anderson, Wahoo

1989: Mike Lehl, Blair

1988: Larry Ribble, Mill. South

1987: Tom Jaworski, Creighton Prep

1986: Jon Appleget, Fremont

1985: Bill Olson, Omaha Northwest

1984: Fred Letheby, Madison

1983: Jim Kane, Elkhorn MM

1982: Bob Schnitzler, Battle Creek

1981: Al Gaston, Grant

1980: Tom Hall, Omaha Westside

1979: Jim Nemetz, Hastings SC

1978: Ken Cook, Adams

1977: Cal Bentz, Om. Westside

1976: Lee Zentic, Lincoln East

1975: Jim Martin, Omaha Central

1974: Vince Aldrich, Lincoln Pius X

1973: Bill James, Bellevue

1972: Roger Higgins, Omaha Cathedral

1971: Bill Ramsay, Cozad

1970: Dale Bubak, Hayes Center

1969: Tom Brosnihan, Creighton Prep

1968: Ed Johnson, Lincoln NE

1967: Bill Hoyt, Omaha Westside

1966: Joe Greeno, Kearney

1965: John Reta, Lincoln SE

1964: Art Bauer, Lincoln NE

1963: Don Leahy, Creighton Prep

1962: Dutch Zorn, Gothenburg

1961: Frank Smagacz, Omaha Central

1960: Jess Keifer, Holdrege

1959: Dell Miller, Columbus

1958: Don McKillip, Red Willow

1957: Ed Haenfler, Grant

1956: Skip Palrang, Boys Town

1955: Jack McIntire, Falls City

1954: Jerry Lee, Grand Island

1953: Wayne Binfield, Scottsbluff

1952: Bill Pfeiff, Lincoln High

1951: Bob Faris, Fremont


2018: Steve Clark, Omaha Westside

2017: Renee Saunders, Omaha Skutt

2016: Dennis Prichard, Lincoln East

2015: Aaron Losing, Crofton

2014: Rochelle Rohlfs, Omaha Marian

2013: Diane Rouzee, Grand Island Northwest

2012: Ed Dudley, Omaha Marian

2011: Scott Jensen, Bellevue East

2010: Matt Fritsche, Bellevue West

Sign up for daily headlines from NEPrepZone

Get a daily roundup of game recaps, player features and more in your inbox.

2009: JJ Toczek, Papillion-La Vista

2008: George O’Boyle, Lincoln Pius X

2007: Jake Moore, Lincoln Pius X

2006: Sharon Zavala, Grand Island CC

2005: Pat DiBiase, Omaha Marian

2004: Jody Rhodes, Paxton

2003: Gwen Egbert, Papillion-La Vista

2002: Mike Govig, Papillion-La Vista

2001: Steve Morgan, Ogallala

2000: Jim Miller, Omaha Marian

1999: Sandi Genrich, Lincoln Northeast

1998: Russ Ninemire, Sandy Creek

1997: Kelly Flynn, South Sioux City

1996: Rich Olson, Millard South

1995: John Larsen, Lincoln Southeast

1994: Joanne Kappas, Bellevue West

1993: Dan Sorge, Shickley

1992: Don Kelley, Lincoln Pius X

1991: John Petersen, Columbus Scotus

Commenting is limited to Omaha World-Herald subscribers. To sign up, click here.

If you're already a subscriber and need to activate your access or log in, click here.

Load comments

You must be a full digital subscriber to read this article You must be a digital subscriber to view this article.