For 16 teams in The World-Herald’s western Iowa coverage area, the season marches on.

At about 2:20 a.m. on Saturday morning, the Iowa High School Athletic Association released the playoff brackets for all six classes.

There were 16 automatic qualifiers in Class 4-A and Eight-Man. In the other four classes, there were 14 automatic qualifiers and two at-large selections.

The 16 WI qualifiers are Council Bluffs Lewis Central in 4-A; Harlan, Sergeant Bluff-Luton, Glenwood and Sioux City Heelan in 3-A; Carroll Kuemper in 2-A; AHSTW and IKM-Manning in 1-A; Southwest Valley and Council Bluffs St. Albert in A; and Audubon, Stanton, Sidney, Lenox, Fremont-Mills and Boyer Valley in Eight-Man.

All 48 first-round games will be played on Friday, the second year the IHSAA has allowed a full week between rounds.

In 3-A, Sioux City Heelan needed a win over Spirit Lake and an Algona win over Spencer to secure its 36th playoff appearance. Heelan beat Spirit Lake 8-3 and Algona edged Spencer 31-24 in overtime.

Only one of the 12 first-round matchups involving western Iowa schools is a rematch from the regular season. Stanton beat Fremont-Mills 42-35 on Sept. 1.

Here are the first-round pairings, with a reminder that the full brackets have been released. In each class, the winner of the matchup on Line 1 will play the winner of Line 2 in the quarterfinals, and the winner of that game will meet the winner of Lines 3 and 4 in the semifinals. The same applies for Lines 5 through 8.

First-round playoff pairings (all 7 p.m. starts):

Class 4-A

CB Lewis Central (8-1) at WDM Valley (8-1)

Waukee (6-3) at Ankeny Centennial (7-2)

Southeast Polk (6-3) at Johnston (8-1)

WDM Dowling (8-1) at Urbandale (6-3)

CR Washington (5-4) at Iowa City West (9-0)

CR Prairie (8-1) vs. Cedar Falls (8-1) at Waverly

Pleasant Valley (7-2) at Bettendorf (8-1)

Davenport Central (6-3) at North Scott (8-1)

Class 3-A

Glenwood (8-1) at Sergeant Bluff-Luton (9-0)

Sioux City Heelan (7-2) at Harlan (8-1)

Carlisle (8-1) at Dallas Center-Grimes (9-0)

Webster City (8-1) at Pella (8-1)

Oskaloosa (6-3) at CR Xavier (9-0)

Washington (8-1) at Davenport Assumption (7-2)

Decorah (7-2) at Solon (9-0)

Waverly-Shell Rock (8-1) at West Delaware (7-2)

Class 2-A

Carroll Kuemper (7-2) at Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley (8-1)

Sioux Center (8-1) at South Central Calhoun (8-1)

Waukon (8-1) at Clear Lake (7-2)

Dike-New Hampton (6-3) at New Hampton (7-2)

Union (6-3) at Aplington-Parkersburg (8-1)

West Liberty (6-3) at Cascade (9-0)

Centerville (6-3) at Mount Vernon (8-1)

Williamsburg (7-2) at PCM (9-0)

Class 1-A

IKM-Manning (7-2) at West Lyon (9-0)

Hull Western Christian (7-2) at AHSTW (8-1)

Belmond-Klemme (7-2) at Van Meter (9-0)

South Hamilton (8-1) at Denver (8-1)

South Winneshiek (6-3) at Iowa City Regina (7-2)

Wilton (8-1) at Bellevue (8-1)

Sigourney-Keota (5-4) at Pella Christian (9-0)

Pleasantville (7-2) at West Branch (9-0)

Class A

Sioux Central (7-2) at West Sioux (9-0)

West Hancock (6-3) at Algona Garrigan (9-0)

Le Mars Gehlen (7-2) at Southwest Valley (9-0)

Westwood (7-2) at CB St. Albert (8-1)

Gladbrook-Reinbeck (8-1) at Wapsie Valley (9-0)

East Buchanan (8-1) at Saint Ansgar (9-0)

New London (6-2) at Lynnville-Sully (8-0)

Pekin (8-1) at Hudson (9-0)


Boyer Valley (7-2) at Remsen St. Mary’s (8-0)

Newell-Fonda (8-1) at Audubon (9-0)

Fremont-Mills (7-2) at Stanton (8-1)

Lenox (5-4) at Sidney (9-0)

Janesville (6-3) at Midland (7-2)

Tripoli (8-1) at Riceville (8-1)

Moravia (9-1) at Don Bosco (9-0)

Lone Tree (8-2) at HLV (8-2)

Kevin is The World-Herald's lead western Iowa sportswriter, covering about 60 high schools. He's also in charge of the sports department at The Daily Nonpareil in Council Bluffs.

Commenting is limited to Omaha World-Herald subscribers. To sign up, click here.

If you're already a subscriber and need to activate your access or log in, click here.

Load comments

You must be a full digital subscriber to read this article You must be a digital subscriber to view this article.