Luke Kluver

At state golf, Luke Kluver will be on his home course — Norfolk Country Club — bidding for his record-tying third state title.

Luke Kluver isn’t the only returning state golf champion who broke 70 in districts to win by double digits.

Sharing that distinction is Franklin junior Ryan Weiss, who shot a 3-under 69 at Indianhead in Grand Island last week to finish 13 strokes ahead of the competition.

While Weiss will be defending his title, won in a playoff, at North Platte’s Lake Maloney, Kluver will be on his home course — Norfolk Country Club — bidding for his record-tying third state title on Tuesday and Wednesday.

The Kansas recruit — who set the state record with a 10-under 61 at Fremont Golf Club — would be the first three-timer in Class A. Those previously hitting for the triple crown were Kevin Slocum of Franklin in the old sand-grass championship from 1973-75, Jeff Erwin of O’Neill in Class B from 1975-77, Jason Peterson of Oakland-Craig in Class C from 1987-89 and Trevor Kosch of Humphrey St. Francis from 2014-17.

Sign up for daily headlines from NEPrepZone

Get a daily roundup of game recaps, player features and more in your inbox.

Kluver’s winning margin at Fremont was 14 strokes over his brother, Jake, who’s a junior. The Kluvers have had 1-2 finishes in four of their past five tournaments. It’s believed that the only brother acts to finish 1-2 in a state tournament in the past 20 years — and maybe further back — were Lance and Wes Kosch of Humphrey St. Francis in Class C-2 in 1999 and Josh and Jordan Reinertson of Gibbon in Class C-1 in 2007.

The Kluvers make Norfolk, which won its first state title last year, a strong favorite to repeat in the scheduled 36-hole tournament. Rain forecasts suggest the NSAA could have difficulty getting in Tuesday’s first round at all four sites.

“We can’t catch a break,’’ said Jon Dolliver, who oversees golf as an NSAA assistant director. “We will do what we can to make it a 36-hole event. The weather may dictate that not happening. What we can’t do is move the dates. So we will play Tuesday and Wednesday.”

Class B and Class C in 2011 have been the only tournaments since the NSAA implemented a 36-hole championship that have been shortened to 18 holes.

Besides Norfolk, last year’s other three team champions are back — York in B, Grand Island Central Catholic in C and West Holt in D.

Tournament sites

Norfolk Country Club, Class A; Elks Country Club, Columbus, Class B; Meadowlark Hills, Kearney, Class C; Lake Maloney, North Platte, Class D.

Returning champions

Teams: Norfolk, Class A; York, Class B; Grand Island Central Catholic, Class C; West Holt (two-time), Class D

Individuals: Luke Kluver, Norfolk (two-time), Class A; Ryan Weiss, Franklin, Class D

Qualifying teams

Class A district champions: Lincoln East, Lincoln Southwest, Norfolk, Omaha Creighton Prep. Other qualifiers: Elkhorn South, Gretna, Kearney, Lincoln Pius X, Millard North, Omaha Westside, Papillion-LV, Papillion-LV South

Class B district champions: Adams Central, Norris, North Platte, Omaha Skutt. Other qualifiers: Beatrice, Bennington, Cozad, Grand Island Northwest, McCook, Platteview, Wahoo Neumann, York

Class C district champions: Grand Island Central Catholic, Hartington Cedar Catholic, Kimball, Lincoln Christian, Oakland-Craig. Other qualifiers: Battle Creek, BRLD, David City, Doniphan-Trumbull, Johnson County, Kearney Catholic, Lincoln Lutheran, Perkins County, Valentine, Yutan

Class D district champions: Burwell, Creighton, Elm Creek, Franklin, North Platte St. Patrick’s. Other qualifiers: Alma, Bertrand, Boyd County, Exeter-Milligan, Fremont Bergan, Fullerton, Heartland; Hitchcock County, Mullen, West Holt

District medalists

Class A: Luke Kluver, Norfolk, 61; Drew D’Ercole, Papillion-La Vista South, 71; Hunter Hall, Lincoln East, 72; Josh Bartels, Lincoln Southwest, 73

Class B: Reed Malleck, York, 71; Finn Lucas, North Platte, 76; Teague Stewart, West Point-Beemer/Scribner-Snyder, 76; Logan Thurber, Norris, 80

Class C: Eli Fox, Grand Island Central Catholic, 71; Preston Carbaugh, Cambridge, 73; Ian Lundquist, Oakland-Craig, 77; Kyle Luebbe, Lincoln Lutheran, 77; Rockney Peck, Wisner-Pilger, 78.

Class D: Ryan Weiss, Franklin, 69; Koby Walker, Mullen, 73; Jacob Lingenfelter, Plainview, 79; Jordan McBride, Burwell, 81; Jackson McKenzie, Alma, 85