Five Class B high schools announced Tuesday that they will form the new Trailblazer Conference for the 2020-21 school year.

The schools are Ralston and Beatrice, currently in the River Cities Conference; Plattsmouth and Nebraska City from the Eastern Midlands; and Platteview from the Capitol.

A possible sixth member, Wahoo, will have a school board vote on June 17 to switch from the Capitol. Ashland-Greenwood officials said their school, mentioned as a seventh member, is staying in the Capitol while it’s still in Class C.

Louisville’s school board voted Monday night to leave the East Central Nebraska Conference for the Capitol.

Reporter - High school sports

Stu is The World-Herald's lead writer for high school sports and for golf. Follow him on Twitter @stuOWH. Phone: 402-444-1041.

Commenting is limited to Omaha World-Herald subscribers. To sign up, click here.

If you're already a subscriber and need to activate your access or log in, click here.

Load comments

You must be a full digital subscriber to read this article You must be a digital subscriber to view this article.