The Lyle Buell/Tom Brosnihan Cage Classic all-star basketball games will be Saturday night at Millard North.

The girls will play at 6 p.m. and the boys at about 7:30 p.m.

The games are a month earlier than usual and at a new site after several years at Omaha Creighton Prep. Boys Town’s Tom Krehbiel of the sponsoring Metro Basketball Coaches Association said coaches asked for an earlier date to help in communications with players.

East girls: Akili Felici, Bellevue West; Kate Drueke, Hannah Weeder, Omaha Skutt; Lexi Kraft, Lauren West, Jayna Green, Millard North; Madelyn Turner, Ellie Rupprecht, Kylie John, Bennington. Coaches: Jeff Ritz (retired), Dave Diehl, Millard North.

West girls: Josey Ryan, Mercy Milliken, Papillion-La Vista; Sydney McDermott, Skutt; Liv Kastens, Papillion-La Vista South; Ella Bennett, Grace Wallrapp, Omaha Duchesne; Grace Pechar, Maria Mwita, Omaha Gross; Madison Hill, Elkhorn South. Coaches: Collin Mangus and Savana Stanford, Papillion-La Vista South

East boys: Mitch Kahre, Elkhorn; Evan Kingston, Platteview; Cam Watson, Millard West; Fred Knotts, Bellevue East; Kristion Johnson, Omaha Northwest; Jake Kudron, Omaha Skutt; Nolan Benak, Millard South; Karson Gansebom, Bennington; Jace Piatkowski, Elkhorn South; Nico Felici, Bellevue West; Davion Saunsoci, Boys Town; Bret Porter, Millard North.

West boys: Will Grixby, Omaha Bryan; TaVion Anderson, Omaha South; Tre Mikkelson, Gretna; Malachi O’Neal, Omaha North; Jake Rueschhoff, Millard North; Lök Wur, Papillion-La Vista South; Max Meier, Omaha Concordia; Tucker Anderson, Plattsmouth; Joe Manchester, Blair; Chase Thompson, Omaha Westside; Kobey Simons, Wahoo Neumann.

MBCA players of the year named

Colorado State men’s recruit John Tonje of Omaha Central and UMKC women’s recruit Lauren West of Millard North are the Metro Basketball Coaches Association’s Class A players of the year.

The Class B-C-D honorees are Winston Cook of Wahoo’s boys, Sydney McDermott of Omaha Skutt’s girls and Kelsie Cada of Wahoo Neumann’s girls.

Coaches of the year are David Diehl of Millard North’s girls and Bruce Chubick of Omaha South’s boys in A and Jason Simons of Neumann’s girls and JJ Stoffel of Omaha Roncalli’s boys in B-C-D.

Commenting is limited to Omaha World-Herald subscribers. To sign up, click here.

If you're already a subscriber and need to activate your access or log in, click here.

Load comments

You must be a full digital subscriber to read this article You must be a digital subscriber to view this article.