The Rose Theater's production of "Newsies" won the Omaha Entertainment and Arts Award for best musical.

The best artists in town were awarded for their efforts Sunday night.

At a ceremony at Slowdown, the Omaha Entertainment and Arts Awards were handed out to winners in music, performing arts and visual arts.

In addition to the winners in those categories, Houston Alexander received the Lifetime Achievement Award.

The complete list of winners:


Best Alternative/Indie: See Through Dresses

Best Americana/Folk: Andrea Von Kampen

Best Blues: Hector Anchondo

Best Country: Clarence Tilton

Best Jazz: Mitch Towne

Best DJ: SharkWeek

Best Hip Hop/Rap: Dilla Kids

Best Pop: Jocelyn

Best Progressive/Experimental/Electronic Dance Music: Plaque Blague

Best Rock: Freakabout

Best Hard Rock: Arson City

Best Punk: R.A.F.

Best Metal: Supermoon

Best Soul: Mesonjixx

Best R&B: Dominique Morgan

Best World: Bishops

Best Cover Band: Secret Weapon

Best Live Music Sound Engineer: Dan Brennan

Best Recording Studio: ARC Studios

Best New Artist: Evandale

Local Album of the Year: Matt Cox, "High Places"

Artist of the Year: Jocelyn

Performing Arts

Best Actor (Musical): Regina Palmer, Once On This Island, SNAP! Productions

Best Actor (Play): Bill Hutson, Eminent Domain, Omaha Community Playhouse

Best Supporting Actor (Musical): Cathy Hirsch, Singin’ In The Rain, Omaha Community Playhouse

Best Supporting Actor (Play): Raydell Cordell III, Stupid F#%*ing Bird, Omaha Community Playhouse

Performance by Young Actor: Chloe Irwin, Parade, Omaha Community Playhouse

Best Comedian: Aubree Sweeney

Best Comedy Ensemble: Live! At the Backline

Best Local Performance Poet:  Trac Schact

Best Local Dance Production: African Culture Connection

Outstanding Choreographer: Sue Gillespie Booton, Newsies, Rose Theater

Outstanding Music Direction: Doran Schmidt, Spring Awakening, UNO Theater

Best Director (Musical): Jerry Jay Cranford, Newsies, Rose Theater

Best Director (Play): Denise Chapman, The Mountaintop, Omaha Community Playhouse

Outstanding Costume Design: Erin Bragg, Van Gogh and Me, The Rose

Outstanding Lighting Design: Ernie Gubbels, The City In The City In The City, Blue Barn Theatre

Outstanding Prop Design: Amy Reiner, The City in the City in the City, BlueBarn

Outstanding Scenic Design:  Robyn Helwig, The Dairy Maid-Right, Shelterbelt Theatre

Outstanding Sound Design: John Gibilisco, Eminent Domain, Omaha Community Playhouse

Best Premier of a New, Original, Local Script: Laura Campbell, Eminent Domain, Omaha Community Playhouse

Best Comedic Play:  Stupid F*king Bird, Omaha Community Playhouse

Best Dramatic Play: Eminent Domain, Omaha Community Playhouse

Best Musical: Newsies, Rose Theater

Visual Art

Group Exhibition

Museum of Alternative History at KANEKO with Al Wildey, Alison Hiltner, Andi Olsen, Andrea Henkels Heidegger, Antonio Jacob Martinez, Aurora Robson, Benjamin McQuillan, Brian Kelly (with Ethan Hale, Scott Kenny, Joshua Puppe, Chris Reeh, Pierce Tallichet, Jacob Trail & Aubrey Wassung), Brian Wetjen, Cynthia Gehrie, David Giese, Doug Hayko, Elaine Parks, Harrison Martin, Jamie Burmeister, Jar Schepers, Jody Boyer, Julie Schram, Kate Budd, KayCee Wise, Launa Bacon, Larry Buller, Leslie Iwai, Michael Dixon, MTRL Design, Nolan Tredway, Pamela Conyers-Hinson, Patty Talbert, Reagan Pufall, Rebecca Ratzlaff, Taylor Hokanson, Troy J. Muller, Weston Thomson, Tim Guthrie

Two-Person Exhibition: Everything All At Once : Victoria Hoyt & Camille Hawbaker at Citylight Arts Project

Solo Exhibition: Love is a Rippling Circle – Camille Hawbaker at Fred Simon Gallery

Best Presentation in a Non-Traditional Format

Cream on Top at The Butter Factory, 14th and Jones with Justin Queal. Kim Darling. Sarah Rowe. Bill Hoover. Bart Vargas. Brian Tait. Gerard Pefung. Camille Hawbaker. Julie Wolter. David Jenowe. Jack Hubbell. Shea Wilkinson. Shawnequa Linder. Justin Beller. Lori Tatreau. Luke Armstrong. Holly Lukasiewicz. Thomas McLaughlin. Bekah Jerde. Josephine Langbehn, Ian Kuhn

Best Public Art:  Watie White – 100 People

Best 3D Artist: Bart Vargas 

Best 2D Artist: Camille Hawbaker

Best New Media Artist: Ella Weber

Best Emerging Artist: Celeste Butler

Best Visual Artist: Watie White

Reporter - Entertainment/music/concert

Kevin Coffey is the entertainment editor and critic, covering music, movies, video games, comic books and lots more. Follow him on Twitter @owhmusicguy. Phone: 402-444-1557.

Commenting is limited to Omaha World-Herald subscribers. To sign up, click here.

If you're already a subscriber and need to activate your access or log in, click here.

Load comments

You must be a full digital subscriber to read this article You must be a digital subscriber to view this article.