106 — Joey Harrison, Omaha Burke (50-0) vs. Blake Jackson, Millard South (44-6): Harrison has two first-period pins this season over Jackson, a freshman who got to the finals with an ultimate tiebreaker win.

120 — Kobe Paczosa-Hall, Columbus (42-8), vs. Wesley Dawkins, Lincoln High (41-0): Paczosa-Hall made the 113 final last year in a bracket where returning champion Dawkins was upset in the quarterfinals. Dawkins beat him 8-6 last week in the district final.

132 — Otis Rollins, Omaha North (39-6) vs. James Burks, Omaha Burke (48-3): This title stays in the family between these brothers. Burks is 2-0 against his older brother.

138 — Isaac DeLoa, Millard South (51-0), vs. Jonathan Killingsworth, Lincoln Southeast (46-0): The only match that pairs undefeated returning champions. They never have met in high school competition. DeLoa is trying to be the 26th four-time champion.

152 — Connor Fox, Omaha Burke (51-2) vs. Caleb Licking, Norfolk (38-1): The all-time victory leaders at their schools are also returning champions. Licking's loss was 9-2 to Fox at the Flatwater Fracas.

220 — Alex Cloyd, Millard South (52-0), vs. Nick Pray, Omaha Creighton Prep (48-2): Cloyd pinned Pray — one of his record 49 this season — in the second period of their Metro Conference final.


106 —Walker Moore, Blair (42-4) vs. Trevor Fauver, Gretna (49-3): Moore is coming off a 9-5 win over previously unbeaten Trey Arellano of Sidney. Fauver has two decisions this season against fellow sophomore Moore as they are 1-2 in the coaches' ratings.

138 — Bailey Vanderpool, Omaha Skutt (22-0) vs. Josh Velasquez, Bennington (463): Vanderpool goes for his second title after beating top-ranked Ben Rodriguez of Scottsbluff in the semifinals. He won state as a freshman. Velasquez has not faced him this season.

145 — Bill Adusei, Boys Town (35-0), vs. Marc Zeckser, Adams Central (44-1): Zeckser is undefeated against Class B competition. Adusei is bidding for his third title — the first two were won in Virginia — and he's wrestled in state finals every year.

152 — Derek Robb, Sidney (39-1), vs. Billy Higgins, Omaha Skutt (44-3): In this match of sophomores ranked 1 and 2, respectively, Robb goes for his second title.

182 — Trevor Walton, Boys Town (20-2), vs. Trevor Nichelson, Asland-Greenwood (420): Nichelson's bid for a second title comes against last year's 195-pound state champion in Maine. Nichelson beat him 10-2 at the Boys Town Duals two weeks ago.


113 — Max Hughes, Syracuse (46-3), vs. Evan Waddington, Wood River (54-0): Waddington, a freshman, took out a defending champion, Jordan Kelber of Valentine, with a 12-5 semifinal win. Hughes was last year's Class B 106 champion. A 1-vs.-2 ratings match.

126 — Eric Pacheco, Kearney Catholic (41-5), vs. Wyatt Phillips, David City (28-0): Phillips is top-ranked and a defending champion. He's also one of four finalists for the Scouts. Pacheco is on a 20-match winning streak.

160 — Morgen Valentine, David City (41-6), vs. Zach Borer, North Bend (56-1): Valentine came in ranked third and has not faced Borer, who would be the first to win 57 matches in a season.

195 — Derek Tachvosky, Wilber-Clatonia (502), vs. Matthew Kindler, David City Aquinas (43-0): A rematch of a district final that Kindler won 18-2. He's looking for a repeat title and possibly help the Monarchs to a runner-up team trophy


126 — Christian Miller, Plainview (36-1) vs. Garret Zimmerer, Creighton (38-6): Miller's bid for a third title as a junior sends him against Zimmerer, who won a Class D title last year at 120. Miller's pin in the district final was his second of the season against his conference rival.

132 — Connor Donscheski, Palmer (50-5) vs. Cameron Riggs, North Platte St. Patrick's (46-0): Riggs is 90-0 in his career as he tries to get halfway to four titles. Donscheski also is a sophomore.

160 — Zemua Baptista, Friend (43-0), vs. Noah Rutjens, Elkhorn Valley (42-3): Baptista is in the finals for the fourth time and seeking his third title before going to Iowa State.

170 — Chris Petersen, Elkhorn Valley (42-3) vs. Jacob Klingelhoefer, Amherst (44-4): Petersen beat Klingelhoefer 4-2 at the Neligh-Oakdale Invitational. This could decide the team championship.

Commenting is limited to Omaha World-Herald subscribers. To sign up, click here.

If you're already a subscriber and need to activate your access or log in, click here.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Please keep it clean, turn off CAPS LOCK and don't threaten anyone. Be truthful, nice and proactive. And share with us - we love to hear eyewitness accounts.

You must be a digital subscriber to view this article.