Spelling Bee

Spelling Bee

Each year, nearly 80 students from Nebraska and western-Iowa compete in the Omaha World-Herald's Midwest Spelling Bee. The students earn the right to compete in the Omaha World-Herald Midwest Spelling Bee by winning their county or district bees. The winner of the Omaha World-Herald Midwest Spelling Bee receives an all-expenses-paid trip to Washington, D.C. to compete against champion spellers from across the country in the Scripps National Spelling Bee the end of May. The Omaha World-Herald is proud to sponsor The Midwest Spelling Bee since 1929.

2019 Omaha World-Herald Midwest Spelling Bee Information

The spelling bee will be held on March 2, 2019.

Location - TBD

Registration dates and information for the 2019 Omaha World-Herald Spelling bee will be updated by August 1, 2018.

2018 Omaha World-Herald Midwest Spelling Bee Results

Stephanie Lewis 8th Grade, Marrs Magnet Center, Omaha

Runner Up
Meghana Nakkanti, Sidney, NE

Third Place
Hannah Fernandes, Omaha, NE
Immanuel Soh, Omaha, NE
Sankar Ramamurthy, Lincoln, NE

Contact Information

Sara Findley
Midwest Spelling Bee Coordinator
Omaha World-Herald
1314 Douglas Street, Suite 600
Omaha, NE 68102
Tel: 402-444-1011
E-mail: sara.findley@owh.com

Nicole Dittoe
Scripps National Spelling Bee
Sponsorship and Operations Assistant
Ph: 513-898-4033
Fax: 513-977-3808
Email: nicole.dittoe@scripps.com or



8:00 AM Registration
9:00 AM Welcome: Introduction of judges and explanation of rules
9:15 AM Two practice written rounds
10:00 AM Written spelling rounds (Until 6-10 finalists remain)
11:00 AM Introduction of oral round finalists, explanation of rules
11:15 AM Oral elimination rounds (Until 2 finalists remain)
12:00 PM Explanation of new rules for two finalists
12:05 PM Final oral rounds
12:30 PM Awards presentation
12:40 PM Brief meeting with winner and parents to discuss Washington trip

Please note: Times listed for the written and oral rounds are tentative and are based on the elimination schedule of past bees.

Past Champions

2018  Stephanie Lewis, Omaha, NE
2017  Hannah Fernandes, Omaha, NE
2016  Tharein Potuhera, Omaha, NE
2015  Brooke Biby, Omaha, NE
2014  Grace Johanningsmeier, Omaha, NE
2013  Antonio Lansang, Neligh, NE
2012  Julia Fiksinski, Omaha, NE
2011  Jenny Solheim, Omaha, NE
2010  Emma Johanningsmeier, Omaha, NE
2009  Bobby Larsen, Papillion, NE
2009  Alexis Sharp, Omaha, NE
2008  Pierce Dageforde, Omaha, NE
2007  Sarah Mirza, Grand Island, NE
2006  Ben Reinig, Portsmouth, IA
2005  Ben Reinig, Portsmouth, IA
2004  Katie Nespor, Fullerton, NE
2003  Regina Reinig, Portsmouth, IA
2002  Regina Reinig, Portsmouth, IA
2001  Regina Reinig, Portsmouth, IA
2000  Ester Wright, Columbus, NE
1999  Kristin Sargeant, Bellevue, NE
1998  Kristin Sargeant, Bellevue, NE
1997  Stephen Wright, Columbus, NE
1996  Matthew Wright, Columbus, NE
1995  Matthew Wright, Columbus, NE
1994  Jennifer Reinig, Portsmouth, IA
1993  Jennifer Reinig, Portsmouth, IA
1992  Christopher Brown, Lincoln, NE
1991  Camille Schaffer, Columbus, NE
1990  Megan Brown, Omaha, NE