Library staffers book state awards

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Friday, November 1, 2013 12:00 am

Two Sump Memorial Library staff members received awards at the Nebraska Library Association/Nebraska School Librarians Association annual conference last week.

The two were honored for their contributions to the library, community and profession.

Mary Matuszewski, part-time youth services assistant, received the 2013 Mad Hatter Award. The award recognizes an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to librarianship and library development for young people.

Matuszewski was nominated by the library’s youth services manager, Cathy McMahon, for her innovative and creative programming, passion for serving and commitment to her patrons.

Wanda Butts received the Nebraska Library Association’s 2013 Paraprofessional of the Year Award.

The award recognizes a library employee who has demonstrated outstanding service in a library setting.

Butts is employed part-time at the library as a night circulation supervisor, meeting room coordinator and administrative assistant. She was nominated by library director Robin Clark for her management skills, creativity and passion for serving the community.

More than 450 librarians from across the state attended the conference in Kearney.

Copyright ©2014 Omaha World-Herald. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, displayed or redistributed for any purpose without permission from the Omaha World-Herald. To purchase rights to republish this article, please contact The World-Herald Store.

Click here to subscribe
Advertising 402-444-1248