Candidate field set for May primary

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Saturday, March 8, 2014 12:00 am

Monday was the deadline for candidates to get listed on the ballot for the May 13 primary.

Across Sarpy County, only a handful of races will see candidates eliminated during the primary.

At the county level, three races are competitive. In two races — clerk of the district court and register of deeds — a Republican challenger is taking on a Republican incumbent.

County Commissioner Jim Thompson, a Republican, has drawn two challengers from his own party and one from the Democratic Party.

Absent a write-in challenge or another unexpected development, however, the following county officials are expected to retain their office: County Assessor Dan Pittman, County Attorney Lee Polikov, County Clerk Deb Houghtaling, County Treasurer Rich James, Sheriff Jeff Davis and County Engineer Dennis Wilson.

In La Vista, three council members are expected to retain their seats: Kim Thomas in Ward I, Alan Ronan in Ward II.

The four members of the Papillion City Council running again all drew no challengers: Gene Jaworski in Ward I, Steve Engberg in Ward II, Troy Florance in Ward III and Tom Mumgaard in Ward IV. T

he at-large candidates for Springfield Council also should advance: Chad Nolte and Darren Carlson.

Papillion Mayor David Black and Springfield Mayor Mike Dill both have one challenger apiece, so both advance through the primary.

The Papillion-La Vista School District and Springfield Platteview Community Schools both drew healthy slates of candidates, but no one will be eliminated following the May primary. Both school boards will see three candidates each win in November.

La Vista residents will also be asked whether they want to approve a half-cent sales tax increase to support redevelopment along 84th Street.

The following is a list of candidates in competitive races who have filed for office according to the Sarpy County Election Commission:

Papillion Mayor

David P. Black

John G. Strawn

Springfield Mayor

Mike Dill

Randy L. Fleming

Clerk of District Court

Carol Kremer (R)

Barbara Pousson (R)

Register of Deeds

Doug Cook (R)

Lloyd J. Dowding (R)

County Board (Dist. 2)

Jim Thompson (R)

Levi Lippincott (R)

Russell L. Zeeb (R)

Terry Dale (D)

La Vista City Council (Ward II)

Terrilyn Quick

Troy White

La Vista City Council (Ward IV)

Kelly Sell

Mark White

Papillion-La Vista School Board

Connie S. Bowne

Rose Lippincott

Patricia Conway-Boyd

Matt Barrall

Lee Denker

Springfield Platteview School Board

Brian H. Wichman

Kyle R. Fisher

Brian Osborn

Jennifer Kreifels

For information on federal and state offices, visit

For details on the Metropolitan Utilities District races, visit

For more on Sarpy County races, or information on voting, visit

Copyright ©2014 Omaha World-Herald. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, displayed or redistributed for any purpose without permission from the Omaha World-Herald. To purchase rights to republish this article, please contact The World-Herald Store.

Click here to subscribe
Advertising 402-444-1248